Tanglewood SC

Clemmons, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readDec 18, 2020

--

Just southwest of Winston-Salem lies the Village of Clemmons. Two icons stood out to me from here: Tanglewood Park and the use of the stagecoach. The later was adopted from the grandson of the village founder who owned several stage lines in the Piedmont region of North Carolina and the stagecoach can be found on the town’s logo. Tanglewood Park is home to a nationally renowned festival of lights every winter, having appeared as a top 20 attraction in the southeast and top 100 attraction in the nation.

For the crest I wanted to capture both of these icons. I started with an idea of Tanglewood and thorns, but all of the versions ended up looking too closely to the Portland Thorns. In the end I decided to name the team after the park and focus on the stagecoach imagery. The center of the crest features a light brown wagon wheel with a yellow center as a splash of color. The team name flanks the wheel on the top and bottom, originally my idea was that it would give a sense of motion.

BB&T Sports Park

I have Tanglewood SC calling BB&T Sports Park their home venue. This soccer complex has a field one easily accessible that has enough space for bleachers.
The kit features the two shades of brown from the logo with spots of yellow highlights. I ended up not adding any extra graphics or patterns to this kit mock-up, but the team could definitely get wild with the splash of yellow.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--