--

Sketchbook doodles.
Young Hines and I playing the Readymade Records showcase at SXSW in Austin, TX.
My display and I, plus some friends, at the Raw Artist Showcase at the Cannery Ballroom in Nashville TN.

Hi. Wanted to introduce myself briefly.

A little history: I am the blood of two culture-clashing peoples, but with luck from a moment of love, I exist. Forced to be independent at a young age, I stepped out into the world with a perspective of Alice strolling her way through wonderland, or Dorothy seeking far away Oz. Eyes wide open, and an imagination that ceases to reach the nadir yet. I followed a plan for a while: go to college, major in business, get a job appropriately aligned with my major. . . Then life has its way of stepping in. Unhappy with learning how to write an income statement, and noticing that I found myself at various art stores, or with a paintbrush in hand, I realized my true path. I am an artist!

Why didn’t I know I could be such earlier?! There is no outline for the artist. No predetermined plan that allows for gratification, it takes hard work! The hardest work of all, for it is a field of passion, full of abstruse ideas and many unknowns. I ditched college for a while, fell in love with a musician, and we set off on a journey of self-realization through engaging in the art and music scene of Nashville, Tennessee. I worked at Third Man Records during their opening and release through several albums, was a contributing artist and columnist for a zine called “Ground Kontrol.” I waited tables to keep our operation rolling and learned to play the drums (kinda) and performed at various venues across the country with Young Hines. My favorite gig was a tribute show for the late Elliott Smith at The Bowery Ballroom. It was packed with heavy hearts, stories, and music; truly magical. We learned what it meant to be a starving artist (sometimes sharing a McDonald’s burger for a day), and rode the high and low waves of the industry.

As much as I could, I dedicated my time to creation. I translated what I felt onto canvas, influenced by the people I met and their stories. This cannot be emphasized enough: I was lucky to cross paths with some serious souls, all minds of dreamers and hearts of wanderlusts. Situations of life, science, nature, and love are undertones of inspiration as well. I swallowed my thoughts with a Vincent Price mindset, myself alone in a dark room, a mad scientist of acrylics, colors, and heart. Unsatisfied until I can call my latest work finished! Many art shows, paintings, sketches later, I learned, and am always learning, that it’s the attention to detail. Step in and out of the moment to take in each day, find happiness in the small things, love, and listen.

Cheers,

Enisa

*Backdrop is an original oil work by myself.

--

--