How to Declutter Your House

Cynthia Zepeda
Amazing Home Designs and Improvement
2 min readApr 10, 2015

It is now summer and it is time to stop putting off cleaning and to start to declutter your house. Not only will it make you feel better by having all the mess put away, but it will make your house look cleaner even if you haven’t actually started wiping anything!

So ask yourself these questions to help you decide whether to throw that piece of item away and get that house cleaning ball rolling! See the infographic down below!

1. When was the last time I used it?

If it has been more than a year. Declutter it.

2. Is my excuse for not throwing it away due to some notion of “what a waste of money”?

It is a sunk cost. You bought it a year ago, haven’t worn it. No matter if you keep it or throw it away, the money is spent. So just throw it.

3. Do I have more than one of this item or a similar item that does the same thing?

If so, let the decluttering begin! And one goes into the trash!

4. Is it broken? Am I realistically going to try and fix it?

We’re all so busy these days, that we rarely have time to fix anything anymore. If you do not get it fixed within 2 weeks, out it goes.

5. Has it moved from its spot in the past year?

I have many items that just sit on my shelf and has created a dust imprint around it. They have not been touched and will never be.

6. If I was shopping right now, would I buy it?

If you were shopping right this instant and you saw this item, would you buy it? If not, you probably won’t need it.

Does this help? This post was inspired by Emily Co and I just wanted to share it to the HomeHello community. The best tip I can give is to be critical on what goes and what stays. If decluttering just isn’t enough to clean your house, then maybe one of our professional cleaners can help!

Originally published at homehello.com.au on December 4, 2014.

--

--