First 30 Days as an ADPList Ambassador

Elsa Amri
Amazing Together
Published in
4 min readOct 18, 2021
Featured image for article that shows the faces of the four ambassadors who participated in writing this article: Denise, Jason, Lisa and Elsa

For the Summer Cohort ‘21 ambassadors, we are now almost 3 months into our ambassadorship, and it feels great to look back on the experiences we’ve had until now. For all of us, joining ADPList was an opportunity to promote and encourage mentorship in different ways whilst also joining an inclusive and warm community, and we are thankful we got that opportunity.

We also hope to encourage anyone reading who might be interested in becoming an ambassador! Feel free to learn more about what makes this initiative so great here. Interested in applying? The application link can be found here.

Zoom call of the summer cohort 2021 ADPList ambassadors
Summer Cohort ‘21

Lisa’s 30 Days

My first 30 Days as an ADPList Ambassador were amazing. I remember meeting my fellow ambassadors on day one. I entered a Zoom room filled with young and ambitious people ready to invest their skills and time in a common cause. Since that day, I have been chatting and collaborating with them weekly and absolutely cherish being part of this new community.

Screenshot from Figjam file showing us customizing personal lockers during our first ambassador meeting
Creating collaborative lockers during our first call!

When I started out as a UX Designer, I didn’t know where to look for guidance or mentorship and chose to sign up for a Bootcamp like so many others. Being able to book free mentor sessions on ADPList will hopefully allow more people to study on their own and receive valuable feedback along the way.

— Lisa, UX/UI Designer & ADPList Ambassador Summer Cohort

Elsa’s 30 Days

My first 30 days flew by so quickly that it was honestly surprising. Time really does fly when you’re doing something fun. During my initial month with ADPList, I enjoyed getting to know my fellow ambassadors and the community team. What really stood out to me was how passionate everyone was about ADPList; it felt great to be working alongside people who had a strong conviction for the same goal: democratizing mentorship.

Screenshot from Zoom session of our 3rd ambassador roundtable showing many of the faces that were present during that call
Screenshot from our 3rd Ambassador Roundtable: Our Imposter Syndrome Breakthroughs

I also felt incredibly inspired by my peers. In the first 30 days, I learned so much by watching everyone showcase their strengths. It made me want to be more confident too, especially in how I represented myself as an ambassador. I’m still thankful that I was chosen to be a part of the Summer Cohort ‘21, and continue to look forward to how we can continue to spread the values of mentorship to a global community.

— Elsa, Visual Designer & ADPList Ambassador Summer Cohort

Jason’s 30 Days

My first 30 days as an ADPList ambassador were a lot of fun. It’s essentially being a fanboy of the platform, but having the support of others who share the same passion as you. During my first weeks, I went hard in producing content, sharing LinkedIn posts, writing Medium articles, and creating YouTube videos. Towards the end, I got a little burnt out, but the leadership team here is super supportive of taking breaks, and I was able to lighten my load without feeling like I wasn’t holding up.

Screenshot of Slack messages showing a funny dialogue of when Jason’s face became an emoji meme in the ambassador channel
The day Jason’s face became a meme in our Slack server ^^;

Plus, my face is an emoji in the Slack workspace. If that doesn’t tell you how much I love being an ambassador, I don’t know what will.

— Jason, Associate Content Designer & ADPList Ambassador Summer Cohort

Denise’s 30 Days

The first 30 days of my ambassadorship were incredibly inspiring. I am surrounded by people with such vibrant experiences & journeys towards career growth and it’s such a positive & nurturing environment that it feels surreal. The first month I was really dedicated to keeping up to speed on ambassador responsibilities & syncing with everybody across timezones. It was quite a personal challenge for me in many ways, as many things involved going outside of my comfort zone, but I feel grateful to be learning from my co-ambassadors & ADPList Community Leads. There are always new perspectives when solving blockers, and strategies in working with a remote global team that I find myself applying in my work & personal life.

Picture of a few of the ADPList ambassadors taken during our weekly meeting
A post-meeting selfie with some of our ambassadors!

Now 2 months in, I continue to learn alongside people with inspiring motivation & dedication on what it means to both build & engage with a global community as well as supporting the mission of democratizing mentorship for all.

— Denise, Social + Community Designer & ADPList Ambassador Summer Cohort

We hope you’ve learned a lot about our experiences in our first 30 days as ambassadors. What about your own personal ambassador experiences? Interested in becoming an ADPList ambassador? Let us know in the comments or reach out personally. We’d love to connect with you!

🌟 Connect with Lisa.

🌟 Connect with Elsa.

🌟 Connect with Jason.

🌟 Connect with Denise.

ADPList is a global community based on genuine connection. Our mission is to foster an inclusive space & support network for designers & product managers to come together, learn from one another, and strive to be better!

--

--

Elsa Amri
Amazing Together

A Visual Designer with a passion for sans-serif fonts, pastel colours and user-friendly design.