A Course in Miracles: Becoming Invincible

Alida McDaniel
Ambassador For Goodness
5 min readJun 21, 2018

--

When you were a kid, did you ever imagine…or even believe that you could fly? Maybe walk on water? Or have some super cool super powers?

Your physical body may not be immune to falling 40 feet when you realize you cannot fly, however, your mind CAN become super powered when it’s focused in the right direction.

“The mind that serves spirit IS invulnerable.” -A Course in Miracles

Think about how often you have a monkey mind, bouncing all over the place and focused on what you don’t yet have.

Does this serve Spirit or does it serve your ego?

Those illusions of the mind keeping you focused on scarcity and lack consciousness are aimed there to keep you “safe” according to your subconscious mind…NOT to help you actually grow or seek God.

One of the toughest things we’ll ever do is to freefall into God’s waiting arms in absolute faith. In fact, most are far too comfortable where they are in life to even dream of what could happen if they did.

When I had my near death experience in 2012 it came 6 months after I’d gotten my call to be a Spiritual Teacher.

I was super resistant to what that would look like and actually feared a life of monkhood…shaving my head, giving up what I thought was a good life, and living away from friends and family…I didn’t want to give up my egoic pursuits of ‘fun.’

It didn’t dawn on me that I was IN the darkness of my own illusions and God was calling me to serve as a honor NOT a burden.

“If a mind perceives without love, it perceives an empty shell and is unaware of the spirit within. But the atonement restores spirit to its proper place.” -ACIM

My perception of self was most definitely without love.

I was so in a place of judging my worth in taking on that role, I saw only the suffering I may have to endure rather than the blessings I could possibly experience.

I may have read a bunch of books on spirituality and listened to a ton of videos but I was still blind to my truth as a vessel for spirit.

Even after a lifetime of studying comparative religions! 🤦‍♀

“The purpose of the Atonement is to restore everything to you; or rather, to restore it to your awareness. You were given everything when you were created, just as everyone was.” -ACIM

And yet, I was too stubborn to receive it.

I’d have fears pop up from childhood when my dad left my mom and I. We didn’t have a lot of money and yet somehow SHE made it work. It was tough going from having it all to living within what we could “afford.” All those experiences anchored a money pattern for me that ‘just when I have it all, it will all be taken away from me.’

So as God is asking me to surrender, I’m thinking…

If I give up everything that’s safe and comfortable, what will I have left?

If I go into this uncertain space, how will I know I’LL be safe?

What if I surrender into it…will it all get taken away from me?

These are programs of the subconscious mind, keeping me…or should I say, my ego’s perception of me…from dying.

What I didn’t get was that:

“Those who perceive and acknowledge they have everything have no needs of any kind.” -ACIM

The more I began to surrender what I though I needed, and accept that I already had everything I needed, the less attached I became to people and money and things. This helped me to realize that what we are attached to becomes the condition by which we allow ourselves to be happy.

I’d placed such high value on everything outside myself as the cause of my happiness that I had forgotten happiness is an INSIDE job. It’s a choice that can and should be without condition.

Some of the strongest people in the world know how to separate their mental ecology from the circumstances in the outer world. 👍

And THIS was my lesson!!

I remember reading a quote a few years back that said something about- when you tell everyone your secrets, no one can hold them against you. It really stuck with me.

My biggest fear…and is the fear of many of my clients…is being vulnerable when sharing the inner demons.

I dated a guy once who told me from the beginning that he didn’t like talking about those inner struggles because he didn’t want someone using them against him. And yet, by fearing this, he was unconsciously using them against himself by letting them have power over him.

Spirit knows everything about you and just how perfect you are in the eyes of God…the only one that matters.

“When you have become willing to hide nothing, you will not only be willing to enter into communion but will also understand peace and joy.” -ACIM

We will forever be doomed to suffer from that which we hide from. There is no room for peace or joy when we fear the darkness inside.

My near death experience was God showing me that I didn’t have to hide anymore. That my calling was an offering to come out of the shadows and into the light.

“The emptiness engendered by fear must be replaced by forgiveness.” -ACIM

I was being called to forgive myself of my wrongs such that I could lead a life that was full of peace and joy. Because up to that point, I’d been hiding in the ‘fun times’ to escape the sadness.

Once that happened, my life began to fully blossom! I received myself and all my faults AS a miracle and stopped focusing on my suffering as the reality. There are still moments where I forget and somehow Spirit always calls me back home to where I need to be with love.

It’s a very necessary part of life to calibrate and recalibrate to Spirit such that the light drowns out the darkness. The more you do this the less your ego mind will have power over you and your choices.

This continued work will truly train your brain to be invincible. 🙌

If God is calling you to surrender your illusions and let go of the fear, when will YOU answer the call?

About the author:

Alida is an Intuitive Life Strategist, student of comparative religions, and co-owner of Mind Soul Fit OC in Newport Beach, CA. Her coaching company, Ambassador for Goodness, hosts various workshops on mindfulness, spiritual entrepreneurship, intuitive eating, art therapy, and relationship success. This blog is also a podcast called Awakening Miracles and can be found on iTunes, Anchor, Google Play Music, Overcast, Pocketcasts and almost anywhere podcasts are found!

--

--

Alida McDaniel
Ambassador For Goodness

Purveyor of quantum-level life hacks. Disciple of the great life. Transformational Life Coach. Designer of Eco-luxury fashion. Neuro-hacker.