Rest & Reset

September 29th 2020

Poppy Permata
The Amber Chamber
4 min readOct 4, 2020

--

Rest corner — my very first Nordic & Scandi interior experiment.

Few months ago a bunch of us in the company had the privilege to join Authentic Lives Workshop. During one of the sessions we’re asked to IMAGINE what our future self would look like. To say that it’s an extraordinary moment would be an understatement. It’s a divine encounter indeed. At that moment I saw a gift of “chair” in my vision. The understanding was an invitation to rest. Little did I know a lot of things happened since then…

I fell down the stairs last month. It was nothing serious, but I sprained my ankle badly and bruised my body in different places. I couldn’t walk properly for a week. Sheesh…Is this your way of asking me to rest, God?
On top of it, dealing with the (internal) isolation was no easy task either.
This accident really taught me to SIT & LISTEN. I felt so strongly in my heart there is a deep work that God is doing in me. It reminded me of all the good things that happened in my life. A lot of firsts, new ways of encounter I’ve never had before. As I’m embracing every minute of it, I begin to grasp what this season is teaching me.

To deal with the whole work-from-home stuff, I started redecorating my room as well. And so I dedicated that little corner in my bedroom as a “resting corner”. No food, no work is allowed there. Hahaha.. I’m protecting the sanctity of that little corner — a small glimpse of Heaven in the midst of mess, you see.

As I sat down and listened, I had the strength to pick up my guitar again. For so long I’ve avoided it, believing that I suck at it. Telling myself to just forget it, that I’m not good at it. So, when I lived in Bali, that poor guitar was only collecting dusts cos I barely picked it out of its case. During the quarantine, I picked it up again. And just simply strum it, just worship, just simply come…

Don’t get me wrong, this situation doesn’t make me a Slash instantly. LOL. The lies of “not being good enough” are still there if I choose to listen to them. However, I just learned to handle it wisely. Being a worshipper is my identity, NOBODY can take that away from me. And I will not self-sabotage this truth with lies. “I know who I am in HIM”. And that is something I’m incredibly grateful for for the rest of my life.

What this waiting season has taught me is the deep-inner work that God is doing. He meets us from the inside and just pulls us straight to the core. I already feel the wind is blowing in the new direction. Can you smell the VICTORY?

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.” — Psalm 46:10 (NIV)

From the top to right : 1) Fittonia which happened to be my 4th house plant (does that make me a plant mom?) The name actually means “realistic wisdom”. 2) Homalomena plant, still figuring this guy out :’) 3) “Leave your doubt at the door” was something I received prior to buying the resting chair. I intentionally put the board there because it will be the first thing I see when I wake up in the morning. 4,5,6) Just a couple of “Nordic” knick-knacks that I bought on a very good deal. 7) The guitar was actually a gift from my office mates on my 25th birthday :)

--

--

Poppy Permata
The Amber Chamber

Wordsmith. Warrior. | Bloom Rooms page now becomes medium.com/amberisthecolor | Instagram : poppyps_