Syukur (Gratitude)

Noi
All Meaningful Content for Malays
6 min readJun 13, 2019

The Malay word ‘syukur’ was borrowed from the Arabic word شكرا, meaning thank you. ‘Syukur’ in the Malay language means gratitude. The active form of the word, ‘bersyukur’, signifies gratefulness towards something that you have or an ailment that you lack.

I was brought up in a Malay/Muslim family, in a society of which we are a minority. In my jaded state, ever since I could form a passable prose, I had little to be appreciative of.

I was quite disappointed that during my conscripted service, I was posted into the Civil Defence Force, where I had assumed the very many “lowlifes” were.

I was quite disappointed that my applications into the national universities went awry when I thought (and still somehow believed) that I had the adequate merits for.

I was quite disappointed that my unemployment phase post-graduation lasted up to 8 months, and I had to do part-time employment and odd-jobs to survive.

I could go on and on about all the issues that the minorities faced in Singapore, even issues that I personally wasn’t affected by.

I had always assumed, and accepted, that it was due to my race and/or my culture. Worse still, I told myself this was the way of life.

I went about living life itself in a very negative mindset and a very dark perspective.

I used to work two jobs, one your typical office hour schedule and the other as a guide at night. It was tiring, but it was my only way (in my perspective) to make ends meet in a city-state like ours.

I was tired almost daily, and I wondered if a degree holder needed to toil as hard as this.

I had listened to the colourful painting of meritocracy that our leaders shoved down our naïve throats, and I couldn’t grasp the fruits of my labour.

Photo by Alexis Fauvet on Unsplash

That isn’t a pleasant way to live life.

Sure, everyone would tell you money isn’t everything, but those people have enough money to say that. As a sad man pushing into 30, I was struggling to even save for a sunny day, let alone a rainy day.

I needed to change.

Surely, I could be more positive. To look at the things that I could have lost, versus the things I could have had. To look for the glimmer of hope, rather than the darkness of night. As a spritely man still having full control of his limbs going into the ripe age of 30, I could start enjoying the rainy days and bask in the beauty of the sunny skies.

That change meant that I could be more grateful for my very existence.

Photo by Amer Mughawish on Unsplash

We toil hard in Singapore, to understand that meritocracy might not be as prevalent, but it’s a good-enough safety net. Sure, we are well educated but it’s better to have more knowledge than have none of it.

We work hard daily in Singapore. People around the world see us as a place where even children aren’t spared, but it also means that we are making full use of our time. It would be miles better if people in Singapore would just slow down, take one day off in a week to do something that they have a burning passion for, something that made them genuinely happy.

We hear of stories where the people in Singapore work two, even three jobs. I pray that my brothers and sisters here eventually land something that is comfortable for them and gives them adequate remuneration. Money is something, even if you say it isn’t everything. It’s never enough, but you can live a lifestyle that what you earn will be just right.

We can look towards the positives in our lives. Stay away from the cesspool of hate that is social media, which is anything but social. Spend time away from the screen and spend it instead with those we love.

We should have a very open dialogue about our races, our cultures, and our religions. Years of riots made it such a taboo topic to talk about that race is now a vulgar word in society. Ask me about my race, ask me about my religion. We can only love and appreciate what we understand, not something that we have absolutely no idea about.

We have to acknowledge that the minority and majority divide exists. We have to acknowledge that majority privilege exists. There’s no point trying to downplay it, there’s no point trying to shift the blame or pull any victim cards. Majority privilege happens everywhere and a cosmopolitan city-state like ours can never be spared. What we can do is listen and understand, not hear and shutdown.

We will invariably look back at our past decisions and wonder where we went wrong, and sometimes even laugh about it. My time doing odd jobs and part-time work was the most fulfilling time where I had very good dialogues with people from a varied facet of society, and I treasure those moments with all my heart, even if I didn’t think much about it then. Permanent employment eventually comes, just take that downtime as a time to develop yourself, be it by courses or by part-time jobs.

We should strive harder to understand that a bachelor’s degree isn’t the end all to everything. A degree opens doors, but it doesn’t assure you a door. If I had the chance to learn a skill or get a degree, I would look at a specialized skill now. What sets you apart from another will be a crucial part of your future.

We can do so much more for the conscripted service, firstly by not attaching labels. The “lowlifes” that I thought were in the Force are some of the most streetwise penny affluent people I’ve met. You can put them down for not having book smarts, but I will raise them so much higher because they have the heart. Something our country is sadly not known for.

Photo by Valeriia Bugaiova on Unsplash

We were all brought up in the same society.

Some of us had it easier, some of us needed to put in a little bit more effort.

Another group will probably need some guidance and nudge along the way.

And it’s all okay.

What we need is that little bit of gratitude daily, to appreciate life for what we have, not live it looking at things we don’t have.

Being a Muslim, I’m grateful to my God for what I have. If you’re from any other monotheistic religion, I’m sure your religion teaches you the same bit of gratitude.

If you’re agnostic, you can be grateful for your own efforts thus far. You made it!

Heck, even if you’re a cynic, be grateful that you can be cynical about things.

I used to struggle monthly, two days after payday and my bills poured in. I didn’t have much left, even with the two jobs I was pulling.

I’m grateful that I still have time to write and do things that I’m interested in.

I’m grateful that life worked out in its own weird ways to make me realise the positives.

Photo by John Baker on Unsplash

What are you bersyukur of?

--

--