Back Home in Germany from the US

I had a great trip, and it is good to be home too

Nicole Dake
American Expats Living in Germany

--

Photo owned by Author

Yesterday, I arrived back in Germany after a month-long visit in the US with my daughter, Atlantis.

It was a long flight, but I was lucky to be able to have a direct flight. I flew into Frankfurt, then took a train into Kassel, where Gary picked me up to go the rest of the way home.

After being gone so long, getting back seemed surreal at first. After a nap to try to beat the jet lag, I did feel a bit better.

Being back here makes me realize all the craziness that is expat life. It is constant push-pull of the old vs. the new. This can be about family, friends, travel, and the culture where you live.

Learning to integrate into a new culture takes time, and I haven’t fully integrated into mine here in Germany yet. I still need to focus on learning to speak the language better, as that is a big part of being acclimated in a new place.

In the coming weeks, I may be looking into taking more German language classes, so that I can fit in more seamlessly into the community here. We really do have a great group of friends here in Germany, too.

It is great to know that I have so many wonderful people who care about me, now on two different continents. Places…

--

--