Communion

Siva Raj
American Haiku
Published in
1 min readNov 18, 2019
Photo by MA FAB on Unsplash

You were an angel
but that only stirred up the
devil within me.

I knelt in the pews
muttering with my eyes closed
when you burst ‘pon me.

The glow on your face
fought with the halo around you
for my attention.

My eyes did light up
as my desire burst open,
stirring transgressions.

The padre did pause
in his sermon about love,
casting aspersions.

The kiss from your lips
cast aside all damnations,
could an angel sin?

The lord god himself
rose up resurrected to
bless our union.

It’s OK to sin
he said but never OK
never to feel love.

We rose together
ready to soar into the
high heavens above.

Where the gods waited
bated breath to welcome us
to our rightful place.

Little did they know
these two lovers were locked in
eternal embrace.

©️ Siva Raj, 2019

--

--

Siva Raj
American Haiku

Poetry is a feeling I use words to catch before it vanishes.