What love feels like

Siva Raj
American Haiku
Published in
1 min readNov 9, 2019
Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

Like a freshly made
crunchy dosa eaten with
coconut chutney.

Like riding BART end
to end yet not feeling like
I’ve travelled at all.

Like reaching my end
destination without a
map or directions.

Like spending hours and
hours with you yet feeling
like it was seconds.

Like a warm mitten
encasing a cold hand that
has never known warmth.

Like a backpack I
don’t even feel yet carries
all I’ll ever need.

Like the warm burst of
California sun breaking
through a foggy day.

Like your tousled red
hair and glowing red cheeks, the
afterburn of sex.

Like sharing lunch in
the heart of SF, every
bite flavoring you.

Like the missing half
of me that I’ve been searching
for my entire life.

©️ Siva Raj, 2019

--

--

Siva Raj
American Haiku

Poetry is a feeling I use words to catch before it vanishes.