Spring Into Action!

American Promise
American Promise
Published in
4 min readMar 30, 2022

Chris Cayer is the new Field Manager with American Promise. For the past seven years, Chris has been organizing grassroots movements in Maine and around the country to end the outsized influence of money in politics and return our government to the people. Here he shares an update on volunteer efforts in states across America.

American Promise is a national effort to pass the For Our Freedom amendment to get big money out of politics. But this effort is made possible by hundreds of volunteers and important initiatives across the nation.

In Maine, the campaign to protect state elections from the influence of foreign governments and billionaire donors is back in full swing. Last Thursday, State Senator and Campaign Chairman Rick Bennett led an online issue briefing and rally call, which kicked off a weekend of action with signature collection events around the state.

At the national level, we are finalizing the 2022 Candidate Pledge Plan and preparing to roll out the plan for all chapter members by mid-April. If you would like to join your local chapter, contact me and I will direct you to the right place.

Read below for some stories of our incredible volunteers from three states, who have shared about the work they are doing in their states and why they believe in American Promise. Thank you all for your dedication to this cause.

– Chris

California Candidate Pledge Campaign

California volunteers meet with Ravi Doshi, Judiciary Staff of new California Senator Alex Padilla in May 2021.

In California, Laura Knipmeyer is working with a team of fellow volunteers to drive uptake and awareness of the American Promise Candidate Pledge ahead of the June primary.

When our chapter meets for an hour on Sundays to plot our next move in California, I feel my best energy and that’s powerful. And of course, whenever a candidate answers the phone or a staffer says, “Yes, the candidate wants to sign the pledge,’ that excitement and inspiration keeps me going.

We are making the For Our Freedom Amendment a voting issue this year in every corner of California. That means we are asking every candidate for federal office who hasn’t already done so to co-sponsor the amendment and to sign our candidate pledge (52 congressional districts + senate). We’re also mounting a lot of publicity (20+ media outlets) to inform the voters where candidates stand.”

We asked: Lose sleep or skip a meal, and why?

She answered: I never lose sleep. In fact, I might plan extra sleep. These are stressful times and, hey, this work can be hard! I need my wits about me and a long-term perspective.

Minnesota Community Activation

Citizen leaders with MN American Promise had a table last summer at the Wright County Fairgrounds in Howard Lake. Pictured is Vicki Barnes, one of our most engaged volunteers.

In Minnesota, Vicki Barnes is working with a team of fellow volunteers to activate citizens across the state, from booths at rural county fairs to meetings with legislators.

“I have always been proud to be an American. My husband is retired military, so that pride is deep within us and our children. Working with American Promise has provided me with a clear mission on how to continue to serve our country, which I had been missing since my husband’s retirement. It has also kept me sane while the chaos swarms around us. This is my calling. This is my duty. This is my America.

In Minnesota, we are working on a large campaign to get a certain member of Congress to meet with the constituents in his district to discuss his introducing the For Our Freedom amendment. We are also ramping up our pledge campaign while adjusting for our new district lines, as well as making our plans for booths at a few county fairs to build out our movement to the rural areas.”

We asked: What song describes your feelings about our pay to play system?

Vicki’s reply? Bob Dylan’s “The Times They Are a-Changing.” I used to play that really loud in my bedroom so my parents could hear.

Pennsylvania Business Leadership

In Pennsylvania, Dave Black is working with a team of business leaders to help drive his state to become the 23rd to adopt an amendment resolution.

“I have always been a believer in our American democracy and working at the grassroots level. Proposing a solution to a problem and rallying support toward that solution is something I find really fulfilling. One of my philosophies during my professional career has been to leave things better than when I found them. American Promise is an opportunity for all of us to make a difference in our own small way.

In Pennsylvania, our goal is for the Pennsylvania General Assembly to pass a resolution in support of the For Our Freedom Amendment. A resolution would make Pennsylvania the 23rd State to do so. I have been reconnecting with some of my former Chamber of Commerce colleagues around the state, setting up virtual meetings to discuss the problem of dark money in elections and learn about American Promise and their work.”

We asked: What song describes your feelings about our pay-to-play system?

Dave: “Money” by Pink Floyd

--

--

American Promise
American Promise

American Promise is a nationwide, cross-partisan network of people advancing a constitutional amendment to get big money out of politics.