Thanks to the Loud Hum of a Planing Hull

American Whitewater Executive Director Mark Singleton’s Path to a River Life

Evan Stafford
American Whitewater
3 min readJan 12, 2018

--

Mark celebrating Browns Canyon National Monument (CO). Photo Evan Stafford

My first memory of being in a boat was as an elementary school student. At that time my family lived in Hawaii, it was a dugout outrigger canoe. We were members of the Honolulu YWCA (because they had cheap beach access and showers). The Y had a paddling and surf club with outrigger canoes. Small kids, like myself, would accompany the men into the surf and when the outrigger pearled we were the ones sent to dive for the bailers (cut out plastic Clorox containers). I remember very clearly the first time I was in one of those outriggers when it surfed the face of a wave, the hull accelerated, popped to the surface, and started planing while making a loud humming sound — I was hooked.

Later, when my folks moved to the east coast, I started paddling my dad’s aluminum Grumman canoe. When I trashed his Grumman during a high-water trip on the Yough (still a sensitive family topic) it was time to switch to kayak. That was back in the late 70’s and since then I’ve paddled lots of different kayaks.

Mark SUP support on the Wild and Scenic Owyhee River (OR). Photo Thomas O’Keefe

Most recently, I’ve started paddling stand up boards on the local class II runs (I live in western NC where we have good access to summer flows on rivers like the Nantahala). Stand up paddling has added depth to my paddling by making class II very fun and challenging. When I go paddle something like the Ocoee or the Cheoah, I take my kayak. Activity that requires body armor is a little out of my league these days.

Always smiling on the river, Wild and Scenic Rogue River (OR). Photo Thomas O’Keefe

What’s your river story? As part of our celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Wild and Scenic Rivers Act we’re sharing the stories that brought us to the rivers we now cherish and have committed to protect. We feel this anniversary marks an incredible opportunity to build positive awareness, support, and activism around the need to grow our one-of-a-kind system of protecting outstanding rivers. AmericanWhitewater, along with our partners, will be working to protect 5000 new miles of rivers and streams in 2018 by securing new Wild and Scenic designations via Congress, as well as new protections through National Forest and Bureau of Land Management planning efforts. Follow along at #5000MilesOfWild

--

--

Evan Stafford
American Whitewater

American Whitewater. River life, photos, sandbagging.