Fighting for Progress, Fighting for My Life

Elizabeth Williams
America Votes
Published in
3 min readDec 4, 2018

I remember December 25, 2008 more than any other Christmas.

My family and I spent the day unwrapping presents, celebrating and packing for our upcoming New Year’s trip to Disney World. Little did I know that only four days later, my world was about to be turned completely upside down.

At the age of nine, I was suddenly diagnosed with Type I Diabetes, which is the medical equivalent of my pancreas quitting without notice. Suddenly, my body would not be able to produce the insulin it needed to sustain life. In my youthful naivete, I believed that my diabetes was just a health issue (and a roadblock preventing me from getting to go to Disney World). What nine-year-old me didn’t know was that diabetes would inspire a political passion in me that has become present in all aspects of my life.

Diabetes presents a host of medical complications that make day-to-day life more difficult — but unfortunately, it does not stop there. Diabetes is widely cited as the nation’s most expensive disease. Corporate greed and the inefficiencies of our current health care system present an incredible financial challenge in the management of my chronic illness.

When politicians threaten access to affordable health care, they threaten lives

One vial of Humalog, the insulin I need to live, has an average cost of $435. To put this into perspective, I am prescribed four vials of Humalog monthly. These costs also do not account for other medical supplies needed to deliver the Humalog or monitor my blood sugar, doctors’ visits or medical emergencies.

When politicians threaten access to affordable health care, they threaten lives. I remember waking up on the morning of November 9, 2016 with the heavy realization that my right to a healthy life was no longer guaranteed. As their first priority during President Trump’s tenure, conservative members of Congress attempted to repeal and replace Obamacare, life-saving legislation that expanded health care access for people across the nation. In addition to that, their new health care plan would not protect people with pre-existing conditions — people like me.

The stakes are too high to not be paying attention.

While their plan was thankfully thwarted, Trump’s assault on access to quality, affordable health care for the chronically ill, including diabetics, did not end in the legislature. Alex Azar, the man responsible for raising the price of insulin to truly incomprehensible levels, currently heads the Department of Health and Human Services. A department intended to protect and provide health care for all Americans has been transformed into one focused on exploiting and bankrupting those with chronic illnesses and disabilities.

When people ask me why I’m a progressive, this is what I tell them. Every human deserves to have access to quality, affordable health care, and that should not be a controversial statement. Republicans have traded compassion for corporate greed at the expense of those most vulnerable. My work on progressive campaigns and with America Votes is undoubtedly motivated by my desire to expand access to quality health care to those who cannot afford it.

The stakes are too high to not be paying attention. Find out who your elected representatives are, locally and nationally, and take a look at their records on health care and whatever issues matter most to you. Make sure those who were newly elected in your districts this November really represent your interests and share your values. If they don’t, give them a call or write a letter. You can join an activist group, work on a campaign or even just talk to your friends.

Be a part of building progressive power, and above all, make sure your voice is heard.

--

--

Elizabeth Williams
America Votes
0 Followers
Writer for

Elizabeth is a political and communications intern at America Votes and a sophomore at George Washington University studying International Affairs.