Breast cancer awareness leads to knowledge — and good health

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Published in
3 min readSep 25, 2019

By Laurie Vogt, American Family Insurance instructional designer

They say awareness is everything, and I would have to agree. It was 14 years ago, but I remember those words like it was yesterday.

“You have cancer …”

Back in 2005, American Family Insurance teamed with the Green Bay Packers after Deanna Favre was diagnosed with breast cancer. I saw the hats, but blew it off, I didn’t need a breast cancer hat.

Around that same time, I was flipping through a JC Penney sale catalog in the car and came across a page of pink appliances for the Susan G. Komen Fund. I thought to myself: Who would pay that much for a pink mixer? And a pink toaster? Really? No one in my family ever had breast cancer, so I doubted I would.

Well, the next day, all this pink was on my mind. You might say visions of pink mixers danced through my head. I could not shake the odd feeling, so I checked and found a lump.

No, it couldn’t be.

Racing for the Cure!

The following day, I was at the doctor. Then, I went for a mammogram. By the end of the week, I was talking to a surgeon. I was diagnosed with breast cancer, Stage 2a.

Those are really hard words to hear because a lot of things go through your mind, like how long do I have, I still have a lot to do, a lot of life to live. I think one of the hardest things to go through is telling people you have cancer. It is exhausting.

On the up side, I met some wonderful people at American Family Insurance who were survivors. Because this was the same time of the Green Bay Packer pink caps, there was a group called the Sisterhood of the Pink Caps that I joined. I always say I joined the club too late, because I was diagnosed after the Sisterhood made a trip to Green Bay. The Sisterhood has been involved from time to time in events, but has not been as active lately.

That’s me with my friend Angie. She lost her battle with breast cancer earlier this year.

I have helped spread awareness by participating in the yearly walks. In the past I co-lead the team with a good friend and AmFam colleague Angie Campbell who lost her fight earlier this year. She was a strong promoter for Susan G. Komen and put a lot of effort into Race for the Cure.

Last year, I participated in the Big Wig campaign to raise awareness and money for Susan G. Komen and was crowned Biggest Wig. Actually, it was a tie. There was a King Big Wig and Queen Big Wig.

Breast Cancer strikes one in eight women in the U.S. during the course of their lifetime. Everyone knows someone who has been affected by breast cancer.

But just because no one in your family has had it doesn’t mean you are safe. Catching it early is important.

Like I said, awareness is everything. By the way, I now own one of those pink mixers. You could say it saved my life.

--

--

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Editor for

American Family Insurance is committed to inspire and help you discover, pursue and protect your dreams. #DreamFearlessly