Let’s talk about mental health

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Published in
4 min readMay 19, 2021

By Leslie Even, The General Human Resources & Training Vice President

Leslie Even

Every day I am afraid. I am afraid for my son. I am afraid of how my son is treated or not treated.

You see, my son has a mental illness called schizoaffective disorder. He is a young adult now, and while we spent years understanding his diagnosis and refining a treatment plan that works for him, the pandemic has impacted him and others like him who have a mental illness.

And I want to talk about it. I want to be that voice and speak up to help those like him feel included and not feel so all alone.

The coronavirus pandemic has been isolating and discouraging for everyone, but for those with a mental illness, it is worse. It is a constant struggle. A daily struggle. And it is a matter of life and death.

The hard facts

The coronavirus pandemic is causing a historic rise in mental health problems. Nearly half of Americans report the coronavirus crisis is harming their mental health. Further, according to a global study from Oracle, 2020 was considered the most stressful year ever and 78% of workers say the pandemic has negatively affected their mental health. That is over three-fourths of all workers!

As an HR professional who cares deeply about our employees’ well-being, and as someone who so intimately understands the challenges of dealing with mental health issues, this concerns me greatly.

Further complicating this major rise in mental health issues is the fact that our society is not equipped to deal with mental illness. So, it is no surprise that according to the National Alliance of Mental Illness (NAMI) nearly 60 percent of adults with a mental illness didn’t receive mental health services in the previous year.

There is no shortage of facts that I could reference on this troubling situation, but I’m here to say we can’t wait any longer. The #metoo movement highlights the need for equal treatment of women. We are now discussing race and social injustices. I believe the next issue our society will work on is mental illness.

Let’s talk about it

We need to talk about it. Because imagine — just imagine — a new world. Not a place where my son is treated differently because he is thought to have a “drug problem” or is arrested because he is having a mental breakdown. But imagine a place where mental health professionals are consulted and police are fully trained to de-escalate situations. A place where my son, and others like him, are treated with empathy and care. A place where mental illness is talked about.

This new world can exist. We need to help those affected to feel less alone and erase the social stigma of mental health. How can we work together to create lasting change?

  • Don’t be afraid to talk about mental health. Share your story and let your loved ones know if/when you are struggling. Be supportive of those who are struggling and who share their story with you.
  • Reach out for support when you need it or encourage people to get the support and care they need.
  • Educate yourself and others. The more we know about mental illness, the less scary it seems. Get involved with an organization committed to advocating for change like NAMI.
  • Be conscious of the language you use. You can fight stigma by reminding people that their language matters.
  • Show compassion for those with mental illnesses. NAMI reports that about one in five adults in the U.S. experience mental illness. There is a chance someone you know is struggling. Let’s remember to always treat each other with respect and consideration.
Leslie and her family

My son and all those with a mental illness deserve more. They deserve ​better. I wish for a world where mental illness is accepted. I envision a world where there is no social stigma attached to mental illness. I ponder a world where we openly talk about mental health. I pray for a world where we unite on this crusade to improve the world for those affected by mental illness.

I want change now for all those affected by mental illness. I want change for my son and to make things better for my son. I feel empowered to find my voice. My darkest days have turned into my brightest triumph and I realize that I wouldn’t change my son for the world, but I can try and change the world for him.

--

--

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Editor for

American Family Insurance is committed to inspire and help you discover, pursue and protect your dreams. #DreamFearlessly