Months into a pandemic and resiliency is all around

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Published in
3 min readNov 23, 2020

By Michele Wingate, American Family Insurance Sales and Service Care Center Director

2020. Am I right?

It’s been a rollercoaster of a journey for each of us individually, and collectively, as we work to figure out this new normal.

My husband and I redefined our normal this summer, when he accepted a job that took us from Madison to Tomahawk, a town in northern Wisconsin. We already had a small vacation home here and were active in the community. With me able to work remotely, we took the leap and made the move.

August was a whirlwind of packing, selling, settling in and figuring out our new routines. It was exciting and energizing.

But by mid-September, I was feeling in a bit of a fog, a bit low energy. Then I read this Forbes article about the normal cyclical response to a crisis, and six-months in is a low point in any crisis. Just reading that it’s normal and natural to have those feelings immediately made me feel better.

And, it was fall in Wisconsin! With what I think are the most brilliant fall colors I’ve ever seen. There were socially distanced fire pits and hikes, and unseasonably warm weather. There was football and baseball to watch. It was a golden month.

Then on Oct. 20, it snowed here. Four inches. Then it snowed for four out of six days. This snow didn’t last long, but it was a harbinger of what’s to come: Winter.

Not just winter, but winter during a pandemic when the best thing I can do to stay healthy and keep others healthy is limit in person contact with my family and friends. And, I got sad, thinking about not seeing my parents at Christmas.

I called my mom and told her I was sad, and she was … amazing. She said it’s just one year and we’ll all get through it. Her resiliency helped me begin to reframe my thinking again.

I see this resiliency all around me, and it’s inspiring. Working parents adjusting to having kids at home. People learning how to make sourdough bread, creative Halloween candy hunts in lieu of trick-or-treating and family game nights over video platforms.

I remembered the concept of Hygge, a Norwegian way of living that embraces coziness and simplicity. I love this concept and have been mindful in practicing it the past few winters — lighting candles, drinking tea, reading books under a blanket, making stews, getting outside for winter chores and walks. This year, I get to double down on Hygge.

I began planning gift package to send family for the Christmas season, which is giving me a lot of joy. I’ve volunteered to deliver Thanksgiving meals because the community dinner my church puts on is all delivery this year. I got a library card. I have a list of new parks to explore for hiking and snowshoeing.

And, I’m looking for the positives in everything. Sure, it was tough when the temperature was 7 degrees the morning of Oct. 27. But after that, 30 degrees feels warm. And, I have a drawer full of new sweaters and I’ve discovered fleece-lined leggings.

I appreciate the support American Family Insurance provides as well. I use the Whil app for meditation and track my activity in Virgin Pulse to earn points I can use for gift cards to buy more sweaters.

I’d love to hear how you are adapting and adjusting in the comments below, as we continue to work through all of this together!

--

--

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Editor for

American Family Insurance is committed to inspire and help you discover, pursue and protect your dreams. #DreamFearlessly