‘My heart will always be Hmong’

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2022

By Ladda Yang, American Family Insurance Talent Development Coordinator

Sometimes it can be a struggle to identify as both Hmong and American. My parents and four of my siblings were born at the Ban Vinai refugee camp in Thailand, but my three other siblings and I were born in the United States.

Ladda’s family at Ban Vinai.

I can’t help but compartmentalize what being Hmong American means. It’s a struggle I and so many Hmong individuals share — being stuck between two identities, two cultures.

But even as I say that, I recognize that my heart will always be Hmong. The first people I talked to, my first words, my favorite foods, where I find comfort, are all Hmong.

When I think about my two identities and focus on the reason behind Hmong American Day, I feel nothing but admiration for my people.

Shared memories

It’s only been 28 years since my family left Ban Vinai and only 47 years since the Secret War, a war fought in Laos during the same time as the Vietnam War. Since arriving in America and settling in Milwaukee, my family has never stopped chasing the American dream. After taking medical classes, my dad became a phlebotomist and my mom worked at dry cleaners to support our family. Sometimes, racism made it difficult to find a steady job but nonetheless, my parents persevered.

The memories and stories of survival are still very fresh in the minds of people like my grandparents, parents and older siblings. A trauma so strong they sometimes struggle to speak about it.

Celebrating Hmoob New Year. From left to right Adrian Thidphy, Nao Vai Yang, Zoua T. Yang, Emily Yang, Ladda Yang.

I look at pictures and listen to countless stories from those who experienced the Secret War and see a community determined to keep our history alive. I see bits and pieces of memories that tell a story of survival. I hold our paj ntaub (traditional needlework or cloth embroidery) and see a collection of thoughts and lessons. I gather around the table with my family and connect through shared meals.

This is how Hmong culture has been passed down to me.

Each story is unique

So, when you look at us — Hmong people — on May 14, Hmong American Day, please understand that you are looking at one of many stories.

Stories that include running through the jungles, fearing the tigers in front of us and the army running behind us. Swimming through the Mekong River, dodging bullets and struggling to stay afloat while trying to reach safety. Growing up in a refugee camp and living in wood and straw housing.

And some of us, like me, were lucky enough to be born here in America and only experience the story of our people through the memories of our family.

May 14 is Hmong American Day

What is Hmong?

The Hmong are an indigenous group originally from the mountainous regions of southern China, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Thailand.

How many Hmong reside in the United States?

About 327,000 Hmong Americans currently live in the United States, with the highest concentration living in Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minn.

Why is Hmong American Day observed?

In the late 1960s, Hmong soldiers fought alongside the U.S. in Laos during the Vietnam War, also known as the Secret War, to help stop the spread of communism. After the signing of the Vientiane Agreement in February 1973, many Hmong were forced to seek refuge in Thailand where, upon arrival, they were placed into refugee camps. On May 14, 1975, the last airlift evacuation of Hmong soldiers and families to a refugee camp occurred.

How is American Family Insurance celebrating Asian American Pacific Islander Month?

In May, American Family DreamBank hosts a variety of free, public events in celebration of Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month and also holds events for Mental Health Awareness Month. Learn more here.

--

--

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Editor for

American Family Insurance is committed to inspire and help you discover, pursue and protect your dreams. #DreamFearlessly