My Hispanic heritage is grounded in family and community

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Published in
3 min readSep 29, 2021

By Alex Batista, Homesite Expense Analytics Manager

Alex Batista is an expense analytics manager with Homesite, part of the American Family Insurance group.

When I’m asked the question, “Who is your role model?” some people say a celebrity or a historical figure.

I’m proud to say that my parents are my role models.

I think I share that pride with my Hispanic American peers whose parents came to the U.S. from humble beginnings with a dream of a better life for their children.

Working hard to help people

My mother is from the Dominican Republic, and my father is from Cuba.

They both came to uptown Manhattan, New York, seeking better opportunities. They met, fell in love and after they got married, they started a business together. They worked hard to create more for us than they had growing up.

That business is still thriving 33 years later!

They are leaders in their community, providing a variety of services including tax preparation, insurance coverage and immigration assistance.

Most notably, my mom helps people obtain their citizenship. She worked as a paralegal in a law firm and saw the need to provide this service in her community.

Believe it or not, they’ve never done marketing for their business. They find customers based on word of mouth and the lasting impact they’ve had in people’s lives.

Community is family

For me, the meaning of Hispanic heritage is also one of my favorite things about our culture.

People in my culture and community treat you like family.

Many times, I’ll have a five-minute interaction with someone who is Hispanic, and it feels like I’ve known them for 10 years. Or I’ll be invited to someone’s house and be welcomed as if I’ve known them for 25 years.

I think about the surroundings I grew up in, and I think we all felt like family to each other, in part, because many came from other countries and did not know many people in the U.S.

Values to live by

My parents raised me to be proud of my heritage. I have visited the Dominican Republic and Cuba, and I speak Spanish. My wife and I would love for our children to speak Spanish and continue to learn about their background and culture.

I was raised with values that are common across Hispanic families I know. A few I’d like to share include:

  • Have pride in working hard to achieve your goals.
  • Strive to give your children more than you have.
  • Don’t forget where you come from and be proud of your heritage. Or as my mom would say, “Nunca olvides quienes somos.”
  • Never judge anyone and see everyone as an equal. Always be a helping hand and try to enrich other people’s lives.

I try to live with these values in mind. They help guide me, reminding me to stay true to my roots.

American Family Insurance celebrates Hispanic Heritage Month

American Family continues to show our commitment by celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month with inclusive programming and representation for employees and community members. The company also supports Hispanic and Latinx groups through our Business Resource Groups, bilingual customer service, and partnerships with organizations serving the Hispanic and Latinx communities.

In December 2020, American Family Insurance signed the “Hispanic Promise” a national pledge to hire, promote, retain and celebrate Hispanic and Latinx people in the workplace and the community. The pledge reinforces the company’s commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion.

--

--

American Family Insurance
AmFam
Editor for

American Family Insurance is committed to inspire and help you discover, pursue and protect your dreams. #DreamFearlessly