Camper Spotlight: Andrew

Amici camper, Andrew, enjoying his hangboard in summer 2020

There are no words more meaningful than those of an Amici camper to share the true impact of your support in summer 2020. Please enjoy this letter, from Amici camper, Andrew, about how the Amici Family 2020 Support Fund helped him feel connected to camp in a camp-less summer. Andrew has been an Amici camper since summer 2018.

Dear Amici,

I was so disappointed when camp was canceled last summer because of COVID. I was looking forward to being outdoors and all of the fun activities that I get to participate in; as well as seeing friends from previous summers.

When Amici contacted my family about the Support Fund in place of camp, my brothers and I took time to think about what we would each like to purchase that could help us experience a bit of camp at home. After careful consideration, I decided that a hangboard, a grip master and climbing holds were the things that would bring a piece of camp to me.

A hangboard is used for training to prepare your fingers and arms when climbing. It strengthens your grip and improves the flexibility in your hands and forearms. The grip master allows you to exercise individual fingers to increase their power. The climbing holds are used to create your own climbing wall.

I chose all of these things because the climbing wall activity at my camp was one of my favourite places to visit. A few years ago, the last time I attended camp, my brothers and I won first place in the climbing competition for our age groups. There is a junior division, which my younger brother won. Next is intermediate, which I took first place for. The last category was senior, in which my older brother was the fastest. We each received a Mountain Dew can of pop as our reward. They told us that they hope we can climb a real mountain one day. These items are helping me get ready to face the wall at camp again so I can bring home another Mountain Dew can! I knew my brothers would appreciate the items as well and could have fun using them too.

I am very grateful for the climbing items I was able to receive because of the Support Fund through Amici. It gave me something to do when we were stationed at home for the summer. My Dad hung my hangboard up outside in our yard between two trees. I used it almost daily. It felt good to feel myself getting stronger and to challenge myself. I can’t wait for the snow to melt so I can get back out there and train. My Dad is planning on constructing a wall where we can put the climbing holds in the spring so I can practice increasing my speed when climbing.

Thank you, Amici! I can’t wait for camp this summer! Look out climbing wall. I’m coming for you!

Sincerely,

Andrew

--

--

Amici Children's Camp Charity
Amici’s Gratitude Report 2020

Amici sends children, ages 7 - 17, from low-income households to 48 OCA-accredited overnight summer camps across Ontario.