Learning At Ampersand: Freda

Lady-Omega Hammond
Ampersand Technologies
2 min readMar 12, 2020

By Freda Naa Ayorkor Otoo

My initial thought of Ampersand is nothing compared to the experience I had. My assumption was I was going to be in a tech environment that functioned like corporate companies, strict way of dressing and only business related conversations. However, my first encounter with Ampersand was when Lady-Omega did a presentation during my Yielding Accomplished African Women seminar and through that I was posted here, together with my mentors, Diayan and Elikem.

My first day at Ampersand dated Monday 29th July 2019, I stepped into an office with people gathered together listening and discussing the word of God and at the very moment I knew I was placed at the right company. After the devotion session, I was introduced and welcomed to the team with their traditional astonishing yet heart-leaping Ampersand clap. I settled-in and was given my first task as an intern which was to research for a project they are undertaking. From that task, I performed my first public research using google form. At four o’clock pm, I experienced another tradition called “Stand-ups” where we all share our progress, setbacks of the day, alongside questions and solutions from and to specific people and problems.

My duties as an Ampersand Intern consisted of conducting research on wedding sites and women in technology. I also developing a web form and receipt generator for an organisation. Though my time with them was short, every consecutive day came with its very own task for me like everyone else but before that we always learnt something new during our devotions which was led by Andrew. The discussions and opinions from those mornings were intriguing. Working with all these people and getting to know each one of them individually, taught me a lot about how to value work culture and teamwork.

From all these duties, I gained basic yet impactful knowledge on html, php, javascript and css. Ampersand Technologies Ltd is not just a workplace, to me, it is a family where each person’s role is valued and appreciated. Ampersand was my first work experience and as it is known, “No one ever forgets their first.” Most good things eventually come to an end, my last day was on Friday 9th August 2019 with all these cherished memories and wisdom. And this was definitely an experience I would never forget.

#InternsofAmpersand #TeamAmpersand #WomenInTech

--

--

Lady-Omega Hammond
Ampersand Technologies

I am a software business developer. I write about: faith, software apps, tech startups & STEM education in 🇬🇭. 📧:ladyomegahammond@gmail.com