Learning at Ampersand: Mustapha ‘s Experience

Lady-Omega Hammond
Ampersand Technologies
3 min readAug 17, 2018

One thing that’s key for us at Ampersand is the growth of the knowledge and skillset of people in our team. We believe we can impact the next generation of problem solvers by exposing them to the realities now. We always seek to share and encourage young developers to give their best. Mustapha Yussif is a 3rd year student at Ashesi University and he spent his vacation interning with us as a backend developer, find out more as he shares his experience below:

First and foremost, I want to express my gratitude to the Ampersand team for giving me the opportunity to intern with them. I must say, it was very interesting working with this wonderful company. I feel the three months’ experience I have accumulated while in Ampersand is more like three years’ worth. At Ampersand, I was exposed to real life problems, best practices in solving the problems and how to deal with them satisfactorily. There couldn’t be a better place for me to unleash and hone my skills than Ampersand. I learnt a lot, for that I will try to state some of the concepts and lessons I learnt while in Ampersand.

I learnt how to write Idiomatic code: very clean, and readable code, which is easy for newbies to understand and advance developers alike. Now, I can confidently boast of writing DRY and highly decouple code for the purpose of reusability. One of the essential tools I was introduced to, as far as software development is concerned, is Docker which seeks to solve environment discrepancies in software development to avoid “but it works on my machine” argument. Also, I have learnt automatic testing to goodbye annoying bugs. Now no sleepless night debugging.

All that I mentioned is just the tip of the iceberg and I learnt all this in just three months. I guess by now you will be thinking that there is no resting in Ampersand, only work and nothing but work. Wrong assumption buddy! Everyone knows the cliche, “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy” including the Ampersand team. As a result, happy hour is scheduled every Friday, aside everyday “family” chat around the working table, whereby everyone enjoys, chills or learns from others as they make their presentations on new things they learnt during the course of the week.

Backend Developers of Ampersand

You see! You will chill as well as learn. So fellow students if you need to challenge yourself, learn the best practices in solving real time problems, Ampersand Technologies LTD is the right place for you.

Till the next blog post, much love from

Team Ampersand

This blog post was written by Mustapha Yussif on the 11th of August, 2018.

--

--

Lady-Omega Hammond
Ampersand Technologies

I am a software business developer. I write about: faith, software apps, tech startups & STEM education in 🇬🇭. 📧:ladyomegahammond@gmail.com