Carrying the Torch for Health Equity

Richard Dzikunu
AMPLIFY
Published in
3 min readAug 15, 2018

Over the past few weeks, my new office space has filled up with sticky notes, reminders, and meeting deadlines. I have begun a new phase of my career as a Global Health Corps (GHC) fellow and Advocacy Associate with PAI. As a United Nations award-winning young leader, I have proactively advocated for investing in women and girls’ reproductive health and rights. I’m excited to deepen my work this year.

My new office space at Population Action International

I have been given the opportunity to go from simply calling for a change to being in a position to make change happen. I can now meaningfully contribute to shaping policies and directing advocacy campaigns to improve healthcare and equity for marginalized groups, including women and girls around the world, particularly in Africa.

Our world urgently needs authentic leaders who are willing, able and committed to strengthening health equity. The GHC experience responds to this. During our first two weeks at Training Institute at Yale University, our cohort was not only equipped with leadership skills, but we were also well informed about global health challenges and the opportunities that emerge when the right resources are directed towards health equity.

Phill Wilson, President and founder of the Black AIDS Institute, and Dr. Agnes Binagwaho, Vice Chancellor at University of Global Health Equity and former Health Minister in Rwanda, were amongst the speakers who challenged me as a young African. Both speakers were emphatic about the need for authentic and committed leadership to champion the cause of global health in the face of opposition and ideological differences on health equity.

“My work as President and CEO of the Black AIDS Institute will soon come to an end. I have witnessed the changes that have occurred in global health over the years; when the AIDS movement began years ago, we did not know we could come this far. In the face of strong opposition and resistance, we stood our ground, we believed in staying our course towards social justice and health equity. Despite the challenges that still confront us, we have come a very long way. I am counting on all of you, as global health leaders to continue where some of us left off. I come here each year because I believe in the power in you all to make a change”. -Phill Wilson

These words continue to reverberate in my mind as I begin my fellowship year. I will hold on to this motivation, knowing that I have a role to play in raising my voice for the cause of health equity.

Likewise, Dr. Agnes Binagwaho will continue to be a hero for me. Her leadership in improving the health systems in Rwanda demonstrates that change is possible. Her Tweet congratulating me and all 134 GHC leaders will continue to be my inspiration during this fellowship year. I know that change is possible.

Richard Dzikunu is a 2018–2019 Global Health Corps fellow at Population Action International in the US.

Global Health Corps is a leadership development organization building the next generation of health equity leaders around the world. All GHC fellows, partners, and supporters are united in a common belief: health is a human right. Want to get involved? Check out these great opportunities to support the health equity movement and consider joining us as a fellow or partner when applications open later this year! And don’t forget to connect with us on Twitter / Instagram / Facebook.

--

--

Richard Dzikunu
AMPLIFY
Writer for

Richard Dzikunu is a United Nations award-winning youth activist and is currently a Youth Officer for the Young Experts: Tech 4 Health.