Letter to the 2016–2017 Global Health Corps Cohort

Ronald Kasule
AMPLIFY
Published in
3 min readJan 27, 2017

Dear 2016–2017 Global Health Corps Cohort,
Compliments! Last July, we were together in the city of New Haven, Connecticut. Some of us travelled for more than 20 hours, spending nights at airports on the way, to join our colleagues at a two week Global Health Corps (GHC) training at Yale University. The promise of learning in the cafeteria, halls, and classrooms of one of the most prestigious universities in the world motivated us to demonstrate our commitment.

We learned the teachings of social justice, public health, and gender equity and enjoyed excursions to take in the beautiful scenery of the area. Most importantly, we established an unmatched bond. I clearly remember how we woke up each day to challenge ourselves to make health a human right. I remember how we listened and danced to house music every night before hitting our beds.

The stories about young people changing lives, portraits of GHC alumni, and excellent session facilitations by GHC’s CEO Barbara Bush, GHC staff, Still Harbor leadership, and Dr. Eric Bing made a huge impact on me. I learned so much from inspiring group work projects that revealed the brilliance of a vibrant young generation that is ready and able to create solutions for the better world we all crave. Emotions ran high as the time to say goodbye and head out to our placements approached, but we trusted fate would bring us close to one another again.

Fellows enjoying open discussions on the beautiful campus of Yale University.

The day I left New Haven, I could sense a renewal in my spirit. I found courage to give my unfailing support to the GHC vision of mobilizing a global community of emerging leaders to build the movement for health equity. I felt pride that I was now part of a network of young change agents who share a common belief.
While on board an Emirates plane heading back to my roots in Uganda, I could hear the voices of my fellow GHC fellows singing “we are ready to build the movement for healthy equity.” From my window seat, all I could see was the beautiful gift of nature and the land which our passing fathers sacrificed so dearly to keep sacred. And in my mind I began to imagine a better future. I am grateful to the GHC team for their vision and efforts to create a community of empowered young leaders. May God bless the GHC team.

“…we have great responsibilities as champions of equity. We can shape our destiny. Our call to leadership puts us in a boxing ring every day to test our resilience — we have to be up for the challenge of making progressive efforts for collective good.”

As we are now in the second half of our fellowship year, let us remember that we have great responsibilities as champions of equity. We can shape our destiny. Our call to leadership puts us in a boxing ring every day to test our resilience — we have to be up for the challenge of making progressive efforts for collective good. I urge my fellow GHC fellows and young leaders everywhere to adopt a pragmatic approach that will facilitate sustainable development one day at a time.

Today, it is my desire to salute all of you for the amazing strides you continue to make to inspire, mobilize, and find solutions for complex social challenges. Let us continue to be the hope of the world in these dark days of uncertainty.

Sincerely,
Ronald Kasule

Ronald Kasule is a 2016–2017 Global Health Corps fellow and Business Development Officer at Baylor College of Medicine Children’s Foundation Uganda.

--

--