#PassTheTorch: Gloria Rukomeza

Gloriarukomeza
AMPLIFY
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2022
2021–2022 Rwandan fellow Gloria Rukomeza

Dear 2022–2023 Global Health Corps (GHC) Fellows,

Congratulations for making it this far and welcome to this large community of leaders and global change-makers! Joining GHC’s movement to achieve health equity is an opportunity to propel your leadership growth as you work towards your professional goals

Thirteen months ago, I was standing where you are now and can assure you that you are not here by mistake. At the beginning of the fellowship year, I was both excited and anxious. I joined the program just after graduating from a Master’s program and was worried about the transition from student to professional. I was asking myself so many questions: “What if I do not have the required skills for this fellowship role?” “What if I can’t adapt to the organization’s workplace culture?” “What if I don’t get enough support from mentors and supervisors?” “What if all plans don’t go as expected?” Once I got to work, reality quickly calmed my fears. It was the opposite of what I feared. The biggest support came from GHC’s daily commitment to my professional growth, my supervisor at my placement organization, and my incredible co-fellow.

All the mentorship, coaching, and professional development that GHC offers have helped me grow as a leader. Through this fellowship, I have become an authentic leader by learning how to effectively handle challenges on my own, how to seek support when feeling stuck, and how to embrace feedback from my supervisor and other team members. Most importantly, I learned to believe in my abilities.

The co-fellowship experience provided me with amazing memories I’ll always cherish: game nights, outdoor yoga, and all the time we spent in the kitchen trying out new recipes. These experiences bolstered my mental and emotional well-being throughout the year.

As I transition into the GHC alumni community, I bring with me the ability to lead an impactful and influential life by being a good listener, being supportive of others, and collaborating effectively with those around me. Honoring GHC’s leadership values and commitments will guide me as I continue to grow as a leader. The fellowship has opened doors for my professional journey. I will continue to develop my skills and knowledge in global health and use my expertise to transform communities.

Because of the fellowship, you will never feel unqualified because you will have leadership and mentorship programs to increase your knowledge and self-confidence. You will never feel alone because you will be surrounded by people supporting your journey and reminding you to prioritize self-care and mental health. Be true to yourself and trust that being accepted to this fellowship means that you have what it takes to be part of this movement.

Remember to take advantage of all the opportunities that this fellowship affords you and use them to grow into the leader you’re meant to become. I wish you an enjoyable and memorable fellowship journey. I can’t wait to welcome you to the alumni community upon completion of your fellowship.

Sincerely,

Gloria

Gloria Rukomeza is a 2021–2022 fellow serving as a Chronic Care & Surgery Resource Mobilization Officer at Partners In Health/Inshuti Mu Buzima in Rwanda.

Global Health Corps (GHC) is a leadership development organization building the next generation of health equity leaders around the world. All GHC fellows, partners, and supporters are united in a common belief: health is a human right. There is a role for everyone in the movement for health equity. To learn more, visit our website and connect with us on Twitter/Instagram/Facebook.

--

--

Gloriarukomeza
AMPLIFY
Writer for

A public health professional with professional experience in health advocacy, research, E-learning, training delivery, youth advocacy, and administrative roles.