#PassTheTorch: Luntha Ng’ong’ola

Luntha Ng'ong'ola
AMPLIFY
Published in
3 min readJun 2, 2022
Luntha Ng’ong’ola, 2021–2022 Malawi Fellow

Hello, 2022–2023 Fellows!

Firstly, congratulations and welcome to the GHC family. This is a very exciting opportunity and I sincerely hope it will be a wonderful experience for you all.

The start of the fellowship can be a time when you have lots of questions. You may be wondering how you will navigate the fellowship requirements and your placement organization. Or perhaps how you will get along with your co-fellow and the rest of the cohort. What you’re feeling is completely normal. I certainly had many thoughts swimming around my mind as I started on my fellowship journey. I can assure you that you will make the most of the next 13 months.

I have faced various challenges throughout my fellowship that pushed me to a level of self-growth I didn’t expect to reach in 13 months. The trainings, retreats, growth plans, and coaching created a holistic system of ideas, support, and solutions that helped me to navigate the work environment and work towards my goals. The toughest part was showing up to do my best when I couldn’t bring myself to, but every time I did I had no regrets. Having that support system made it that much easier to navigate. As a leader, I have learned that I am so much more capable than I realized. By the end of your fellowship, I hope your belief in yourself as an effective leader has grown too.

I highly recommend taking advantage of the coaching program to help keep you on track with the day-to-day aspects of the fellowship. I have found the regular support of a coach to be invaluable for my personal and career growth. The retreats are great occasions to reflect and strategize on your experience as well as connect with your cohort and GHC staff. Come with an open and enthusiastic heart and mind to get the full benefits of those spaces.

Having seen what I have gained from the fellowship, I believe that the professional development the fellowship provides will continue to be beneficial in my journey as a development professional and social justice advocate. As I transition into the alumni community, I will continue to participate in various alumni activities and capacity-building opportunities. I can’t wait to meet all of you.

You are coming into the fellowship as capable leaders and I trust that you have what it takes to make this a successful experience.

Best,

Luntha

Luntha Ng’ong’ola is a 2021–2022 fellow serving as a Business Development Officer at Amref Health Africa in Malawi

Global Health Corps (GHC) is a leadership development organization building the next generation of health equity leaders around the world. All GHC fellows, partners, and supporters are united in a common belief: health is a human right. There is a role for everyone in the movement for health equity. To learn more, visit our website and connect with us on Twitter/Instagram/Facebook.

--

--