The World is a Lonely/Lovely Place

Adrian Parrish
ampwritespoetry
Published in
1 min readApr 19, 2019

The world is a lonely place

It’s easy to get lost in it

I’ve seen close friends

Draw lines of demarcation

When no war was declared

I’ve wakened from dreams

To a sprawl of mediocrity

I’ve searched for truth, for meaning

And found them to be elusive, fickle

I’ve searched for god and given up

Life has not been so hard

But it seems that it is always just hard enough

The world is a lonely place

It’s easy to get lost in it

But I’ve also watched a sunrise

While holding on to a measure of love

My heart cannot contain

So that it has spilled out

Like the rays upon the rocks

I’ve conquered small giants

And thrown large parties in their honor

Orphaned lines have found

Their homes in a verse.

Credos previously learned have been forgotten

Only to have strange and nebulous

Beauties take their place

I’ve memorized the catechisms of the sky

I’ve marveled at the cosmos

And found mystery to be

More compelling than meaning

The world is a lovely place

It’s easy to get lost in it.

The world is a lovely place

It’s easy to get lost in it.

--

--

Adrian Parrish
ampwritespoetry

I write my delusions because I don't know what else to do with them. Check out my other work at www.thedelusionist.tumblr.com