When I Read about Quasars

Adrian Parrish
ampwritespoetry
Published in
2 min readApr 5, 2018

When I read about quasars

I thought about you and me

Because you’re this centerpoint

Of energy ever pulling

Me into its wake, I am

But a luminous nucleus

Hellbent on returning

Into your light, my home

When I heard about quantum

Entanglement. I thought of how

Much I need you and how every

Part of you seems to react

And interact with a part

Of me. So much so that I

And other people can hardly

Think of one of us without

The other. An attribute that

Is often seen as negative

By the religion of rugged

Individualism in

Which we all trust. But I wouldn’t

Have it any other way

When I learned about string theory

Well I didn’t really understand

That at all and I don’t really know

That it applies to us except

Maybe that on some plains we

Appear as ordinary

Particles determined by

The state of the universe

Around us, defined by the

Forces that are always acting

Upon us but in reality

We are also a force, a

Causation affecting change

To the community of

Continuum in which we dwell

And maybe that’s a stretch

But then again it feels like

string theory is maybe just

A stretch as well the way it bends

And pulls at my imagination

The same way the sight of you

Still pulls at the corners of my smile

And one thing that I’ve learned from

Love is that just because you don’t

Understand something doesn’t

Preclude you from reveling

In its existence

And maybe these are all

Predictible things to say

Maybe these words have been

Spoken and written across all

Multiverses by silly poets

Drunk on love who barely

Understand scientific theory

But I was just pondering the

Universe and it made me think

Of you and I thought you should know

--

--

Adrian Parrish
ampwritespoetry

I write my delusions because I don't know what else to do with them. Check out my other work at www.thedelusionist.tumblr.com