Day 3

Ron Kagan
An Actor Codes
Published in
2 min readJul 20, 2018

The maddening-ness of required details continues, though, I am happy to report, they’ve not at all hindered what seems like a good deal of progress.

The instructions were to print to consolegoal not Goal

Now, sometimes the urge to have things done a certain way that makes sense to me is not what’s being requested. In acting, we talked about the importance of recognizing our “defaults.” It’s like a poker player and his/her “tell.”

It takes energy to reprogram one’s self. It takes a level of attention that may not be customary to day-to-day existence because otherwise one might not have the ability to get anything else done. It’s like riding a bike and learning how to do so at the same time. There’s a need to synthesize an understanding rather than just analyze into parts. It’s tough to hold the two together if not impossible. So, we sequence them. First we analyze, then we practice what we’ve learned.

When I am looking at the instructions for an exercise, I try to keep my hands off of the keyboard or mouse. Why?

I want to create (insofar as I can) a separation between listening for instructions, drinking them in, and executing. It’s actually tough. I just want to go, go, go. That’s how mistakes happen though. It’s like a musician not knowing how to honor a rest or an actor not knowing how to breathe.

--

--