Hi, bonjour, and hola

Abby Chase
An American in Toronto
2 min readMay 29, 2018

Two months ago, I was preparing for my last internationally competitive event of the season. After frantically packing and messaging my family or friends, I folded my SkateCanada jacket carefully, placed it on top of a suitcase filled with black figure skating clothes and Canadian attire, and zipped up the bag. I was as ready as I could be for my upcoming European travels and the ultimate destination: the 2018 World Synchronized Skating Championships, held in Stockholm, Sweden.

As I reflected on my first year of university and my experience skating for Team Canada on the eight hour plane ride to our training camp in Vienna, I started to write. I wrote notes about places I loved or didn’t, moments of significance or simply ones I wished to always remember, opinions on the process and my own journey, advice for others going through these experiences, and much more. Jotting down these notes on hotel notepads, laptop screens, or my phone, my ideas started to accumulate into something (somewhat) cohesive and possibly, helpful to any curious about these incredible experiences or those hoping to get through similar things themselves. When I returned home to Toronto, my time went on fast-forward as I finished my last finals, packed up my dorm, flew home, and started an internship at Faithlife, a Christian software company in my hometown. While my life rushed forward, my thoughts kept coming and I was determined to eventually, someday, maybe start some semblance of a blog.

So here I am. One month into my internship, two months from the start of my Worlds trip, and one post into my blog. Here’s to many more to come.

xo, Abby

--

--