worth

a poem

an amygdala
An Amygdala

--

you tell me I have Worth
after you spent years
ripping out the roots

I open the inherited trinket
and find Emptiness inside

you tell me to find him
my oracle in a Mercedes
hunger in his eyes
my decorum the plate

I will find worth in his appetite.

these are the letters
I carry in my chest
despite the paper cuts
I kept them pristine

your love was a lesson
in misogynistic sacrifice
I gave and I gave
just like you
only to find
I come from a lineage
of failed experiments.

now
I find you in the graveyard
my resolve a strengthened shovel
bury the worth of your words
where it, too, will desiccate

run my palms along your dirt
shed my tears for the love
you squandered.

--

--

an amygdala
An Amygdala

You Are Your Own, a curated collection of my feminist poems is available on Amazon & Free via Kindle Select: https://rb.gy/ncz77r