My Aspie-Army Book Is Done

Garret Mathews
An Aspie comes out of the closet
1 min readDec 2, 2017
An Aspie Does Basic … Badly

I have finished writing and editing the online version of my “An Aspie Does Basic…Badly.” The subtitle is “1971: Peace, Love And Remembering To Use The Front Sight On The M-16.”

The Prologue contains my biographical information and establishes the background for the Fort Leonard Wood, Mo., basic training saga that began on Sept. 3, 1971 and ended on November 5. The eight chapters are then presented.

With humor (at least I hope you’ll laugh) it tells the story of a scared-to-death Aspie and his struggle to get to the end of boot camp. Keep in mind this was during the Vietnam War when only a few researchers knew about the autistic spectrum.

The print version will be available in a few weeks. The main goal of this project is to increase the public awareness of Asperger’s. To that end, I’ll provide a book to anyone who wants one. Contact me at garretmath@gmail.com.

--

--

Garret Mathews
An Aspie comes out of the closet

Retired columnist. Author of several books and plays. Husband, grandfather, and newly minted Aspie.