Social Media, An Author’s Dear Friend

Jacinda Estelle
An Author’s Business

--

If you have not followed through with commitment before, here is a challenge that can be rewarding: Get on Social Media and use her for all she got! (That is if we were to put Social Media in human form, then yes she would be a woman!) A number of people transition from just writers into authors with a published book or e-book. Hooray! That is so awesome and they feel accomplished. So, wait, is there a problem? Actually, yes and the problem is the author’s book has entered an ocean full of books trying to make it to the surface to be seen.

The question becomes, “How do I stand out?” One of the biggest advantages right now — is Social Media. Some authors are savvy on their media platforms, some are stepping out of their comfort zone to give it a try, and the rest are waiting for social media to roll over and die! Whether we like it or not, digital media is not going anywhere so it is in our best interest to test the waters and make the world aware of our presence.

Last year, I signed up for Instagram to post pictures of me dressed as Black historical figures. This is an annual project that I love doing because I educate people about Black History. Well, if you were to grade me on consistency with posting, I would get an ‘F’ and below. I posted one creative photo and I felt like this was going to be a full-time job. Out of frustration, I deleted my account.

Now, I am an author AND an author coach. Facebook only has a portion of people ordering my book and requesting my services, so where else can I go? Knock, knock! Who’s there? It’s me, Instagram. Remember you deleted me from your life because you did not know how to USE me to my FULL potential?

So here I am, 122 followers later, and still growing because I post informational and entertaining content frequently. I am building relationships and having meaningful interactions with amazing people on Instagram. People are getting to know me and when they see my book, they know more about the author who wrote it.

Marketing yourself does not depend solely on social media, but it must become a big part of your strategy. As you build relationships with people and gain trust, your sales will grow. Be engaging with your audience, but be patient, because it does take time.

If you look at social media in the long-term view, it can be a healthy and productive attribute to you and your business. If you can see yourself using it for years to come then it is worth investing the time and energy. Make sure to direct all your followers back to your digital home address, which is your website. People must know where to find you apart from social media so that if all your accounts were deleted for some reason, then your followers, fan-base, or friends will remember your website.

--

--

Jacinda Estelle
An Author’s Business

A passionate author and author coach who empowers other busy professionals to write their stories and get it published. She is a mom and loves traveling