How To Create A Social Media Post 100% Of Your Followers Will Like

Posting what’s popular is what’s holding you back.

For The Interested
Published in
4 min readFeb 9, 2018

--

Ready for a challenge?

If you had to create a single social media post that would get liked by a higher percentage of your followers than anything you’ve ever posted before, what would you post?

Here’s what I’d recommend and how I figured it out.

Back in 2011, I was hired to run social media for The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences (aka the organization who runs The Oscars).

It was an incredible opportunity to use social media to inspire, entertain, and educate film fans around the world so I spent a lot of time thinking about the best strategic way to approach it.

I initially thought the path to our most successful social media content would be to combine the organization’s unique resources with the most popular topics among our followers.

Basically, to leverage the Academy’s incredible archival collections to create unique content around the most popular and successful movies of all time.

I believed social posts about movies like Star Wars, The Lion King, or Titanic would perform well because they would resonate with the largest portion of our audience due to…

--

--

Josh Spector
For The Interested

I’ll help you produce, promote, and profit from your creations. Subscribe to my newsletter for free personalized recommendations: ForTheInterested.com/subscribe