People think I’m confident. Here’s what they don’t understand.

9 Misunderstandings About Confidence

Josh Spector
For The Interested
Published in
6 min readNov 5, 2016

--

There’s a lot more where this came from. Check out the FOR THE INTERESTED newsletter.

People tell me I’m confident.

I don’t disagree. I’ve developed more confidence than the average person and it’s a huge asset in my work and life.

But I’ve come to realize many people misunderstand key components of confidence and how it works.

Here’s what I’ve learned about it as a relatively confident person…

1. Confidence isn’t the absence of fear.

Just because you believe you can do something doesn’t mean you don’t fear doing it.

It’s easy assume things are easy for confident people — that they don’t worry, get anxious, or fear failure in their pursuits.

That’s not remotely true.

Everybody fears things. Gets uncomfortable. Feels unsure.

Confident people feel as much fear as everybody else. But they don’t allow fear to prevent them from action.

--

--

Josh Spector
For The Interested

I’ll help you produce, promote, and profit from your creations. Subscribe to my newsletter for free personalized recommendations: ForTheInterested.com/subscribe