100 Followers and Beyond

Yes, You have a Hundred Followers. But Are We Creating Value?

Aneesh Mani
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readJan 4, 2022

--

Photo by Clemens van Lay on Unsplash

Yes. Medium has updated the MPP to allow earnings for writers with 100 followers or more. I am happy for everyone who got their 100 followers. I can never fulfill the second clause in the program. Why? I cannot join the Partner Program from a non-affiliate country.

Nope, I don't have 100 followers. Nope, I don't follow 100 people. But I request all those who write/read about 'You follow me. I follow you'.

Value Addition

If we are going to help others and ourselves, let's look for a few things when we try to follow someone. There is no use when you have more than 100 followers and half of them scroll through your story without spending time. And no use following someone when you are not reading their stories.

Are you following someone who is writing on the topics that interest you?

If you are not following someone who writes about topics that interest you, honestly, we will not spend much time reading about it. I'm a big fan of Leadership, Product Design, Technology, Programming, and Software Development, especially Web Development. I read other articles very rarely. I would lean towards skipping other articles and reading tech-related articles.

It would be great to mention the key topics you write about.

If we are looking for followers, it would be great to mention topics we write about frequently—no value in having followers when they do not read about these articles. Remember, reads produce the $$$. Not the view count or the follower count.

Hope, we are thrilled to read articles from those we follow, and our friends who follow us feel the same when they read our articles.

Things I write and love to read about:

Leadership, Product Design, Technology, Programming, and Software Development, especially Web Development.

Happy New Year!

--

--

Aneesh Mani
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Front-End Developer | Student of Leadership, Management, and Product Design | CSPO. Read, Write, Code and Loop. https://www.linkedin.com/in/aneesh-mani