4 Tips for Conquering Your Fears

Lori Jackson
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
6 min readApr 20, 2021

--

Photo by Siphotography from Canva

“There are two basic motivating forces: fear and love. When we are afraid, we pull back from life. When we are in love, we open to all that life has to offer with passion, excitement, and acceptance…Evolution and all hopes for a better world rest in the fearlessness and open-hearted vision of people who embrace life.”

– John Lennon

One of the most memorable experiences I have of being fearless was also one of my greatest failures. I tried out for the cheerleading squad in my junior year of high school. Two of my good friends had been cheerleaders that year, and I had sat “alone” in the bleachers while they did their thing during games. I envied their cute uniforms and thought it would be fun if we were all cheering together.

I didn’t allow my brain to process the fact that I had absolutely no experience with dancing, gymnastics, or cheerleading, let alone getting up in front of people. I signed up for tryouts, went to the workshops to learn the routine, and practiced on our back patio using the sliding glass door as a mirror. The encouragement from my friends kept me going despite any trepidation I might have felt.

It was not until I was waiting for my turn that I processed how big of a mistake I was making. My heart was beating out of my chest, I was sweating out of pores I didn’t know existed, and the words…

--

--

Lori Jackson
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Tandem biker, lemon lover, and wisdom searcher. You can follow Lori’s writing by subscribing below.