5 Characteristics That Will Make You Stand Out As A Software Developer

These characteristics will make you stand out among the crowd.

Matthew Brown
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

Photo by Pedro Lastra on Unsplash

I have worked on many different teams and worked with many great developers. I have noticed a handful of common traits that these developers share. The purpose of this article is to share my insight with you about what characteristics great developers possess.

I am not saying by any means you need to possess all these qualities, but even if you can demonstrate a couple on this list you will be ahead of the game.

1. Agility

It always seems to me that the developers that get the most attention for their work are the ones who can complete tasks quickly. Now if you have much experience with software projects you will know there are plenty of developers who go as fast as possible and leave a massive amount of bugs, incomplete features, and technical debt in their wake. These are not the devs I’m talking about.

Speed is only a good thing if your work is also complete. That means minimal bugs and re-work needed when it gets to peer review or QA testing. If you consistently meet these criteria and are knocking out tasks left and right then you can count on getting most of the critical work distributed to your queue.

--

--

Matthew Brown
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I am a senior software engineer. My passions include software development, anything technology related, and cars.