7 Things I Learned About Love During A Spiritual Awakening

And how they changed my life.

Danielle Kloberdanz
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
5 min readFeb 12, 2021

--

Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

Nowadays we hear a lot about the importance of self-love and how to foster it. I struggled with this off and on in my life and, when I entered motherhood, I struggled with it even more.

For much of my life, I battled feelings of not being good enough, of self-doubt, of falling short all the time. And now that I was a mom, I doubted if I was a good enough mother if I made the right choices for my children if what I offered them was what they truly needed.

Years went by like this until something completely unexpected happened to me. I experienced a life-changing spiritual awakening that gave me healing perspectives on what it means to be a good mother and how to live life with peace and purpose. I also received an answer to my burning question, is there more to life than this?

In my book, Inner Compass Mom, I describe what happened to me in detail, but here I will simply share that, during one particular moment of awareness, I was released from a life-time of not feeling good enough and was healed through, what I describe as, a source of the most divine, unconditional love that granted me the deepest peace and most profound joy that I had ever experienced. For five days, I remained in a fully awakened, blissful state of unconditional love, complete acceptance, and profound inner peace.

Here are some of the insights about love that healed me in so many ways:

  1. We are not broken, but whole.

Many of us feel broken, unworthy, or flawed in many ways. But beyond the tainted stories of our minds, lies the truth of who we really are. And that truth is that we are not broken, but we are whole at the level of our soul.

When I experienced the transcendence of my mind, I perceived everything through the lens of unconditional love, which only saw wholeness, even in the flaws. I knew I wasn’t judged for my mistakes but was celebrated because I had learned and grown.

I understood that our shortcomings, our mistakes, and our falls are there to help us grow and evolve. Nothing more and nothing less. Mistakes are inevitable on the path of growth and development. Often, our own judgments about them make them so painful.

So, next time when you are hard on yourself when you fail, focus on how far you’ve come and try to love where you are right now. Adopt a growth mindset and continue to expand your life in a positive way.

2. You are enough.

We will never know all the hows and whys of life. The narrow perspectives that we have as humans can only give us a limited understanding of the grand mysteries of life.

While I was in a higher state of awareness I realized that there’s much more behind the story of life than we will ever know. But in that sacred space I was at complete peace with not understanding it all.

Because there are so many unknown forces at play in the game of life that we have absolutely no control over, I felt completely forgiven and all my guilty should-haves and could-haves washed away. I understood that all I had to do to be a good mom, was to do the best I could. It was this simple. That was enough. No need to worry about it anymore. I deeply knew that I was enough. We all are.

Perfect parents and children do not exist. Besides, our children have their own purpose, just like we do. They have to follow their own inner compass to find their own path, just like us.

3. No more need for judgement.

In this higher state of consciousness, I didn’t feel judged at all, but rather completely accepted. It had been my own judgemental mind that had given me so much trouble. During that time, I didn’t feel judged for my mistakes or shortcomings, only loved and forgiven because I had learned and grown.

I instantly released all judgements towards others, because I understood that others are simply also on a path of growth. And sometimes we get pulled into someone’s drama, just like others had been pulled into mine. All of us are simply doing the best we can while we carry our stories and beliefs about how to live our best lives. We will never truly know someone else’s story, so we cannot judge them.

4. Don’t take anything personally.

How easy it is to get hurt by someone’s comment or critique. But the truth is that this says more about the person delivering it than about you. Again, we are all on our own path and don’t know other people’s reasons for doing what they do.

So, be who you are and let go of the need for other people’s approval. Create a life that you approve of and love. No one can take that away and you honor yourself by doing so.

5. The meaning of purpose.

To live with purpose means to pursue that which you love, enjoy, are passionate about, are in awe of, or are simply curious about. Doing so unleashes a life force that can heal us in many ways. The more you allow yourself to be inspired, the more joy and meaning you give to your life. So, give yourself permission to do so.

6. About Unconditional Love.

I had always loved my children and my husband, but while I was in that state of unconditional love, I finally understood what it truly means: complete acceptance of all their flaws and shortcomings without needing to change them.

When you realize that we are all on our own journey of waking up to who we really are, to uncover our own truths and our own purpose, we must grant grace for others to do so in their own unique way.

The biggest gift we can give others is to see through the layers of flaws and imperfections and see their spirit shine right through, radiating their own unique light.

7. Author your own story.

You are more than your conditioned mind believes. Your story didn’t start with you, but with your ancestors on different stages and during different times. The dramas of past generations often still echo in our own lives. But we are far more than the stories that we carry with us from our past.

When we are ready to forgive others for the pain they caused us, we start seeing a path that draws us in. It’s a path that is no longer dictated by our past, but fueled by our own desires for deeper meaning, more joy and greater inner peace. That’s when we finally break old family patterns that started so long ago and we start a new story. Our own.

What’s your story?

--

--