A Music Review of Carry Me Away by John Mayer and Tonight by Phoenix

Joseph Kieffer
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readNov 11, 2022
Photo by Sammie Chaffin on Unsplash

There are moments in life that deserve some exotic and lively enjoyment. I take a second look at my life and notice moments of euphoria, peace, connection, and amusement. Instances of life that bring exhilaration can also elicit the desire to want more and be more. I agree with the lyrics of John Mayer from the song Carry Me Away:

“I’m such a bore, I’m such a bummer
There must be more behind the summer
I want someone to make some trouble
Been way too safe inside my bubble, oh
Take me out and keep me up all night
Let me live on the wilder side of the light.”

Mayer seems to think he is a bum and must have someone take him to places unknown for his own sanity and well-being. The one person that assists in making things happen for the boring moments in life. That one wild/romantic person that elicits the risk-taking person in you to be free. He seems to want to live on the wild side just for one night. Mayer may have an alter ego that allows him to bust through his own bubble and be a new personality temporarily. I enjoy listening to this when I need to shake things up.

Just one night to make some trouble and live on the wilder side of your own boundary. I am not explicitly calling you out to be a crazy person that lets it all go for one night. We all know what it takes to live on one other side of the line for one night and come back. We all want to be on the mountaintop and cling glasses to toast with our best friends as the sun comes up over the valley. We all want to go out to the spot and dance to one or two songs that make us try a new dance number and make us sweat. We all want to take off work, go to the airport, book the first flight out and just go on a trip that we haven’t taken in years.

Maybe you do not want to get carried away and instead live a simple structured life. I enjoy structure and I enjoy simplicity, but there is a reason artists are singing songs about moments that make our hearts full. I agree with the lyrics of Phoenix from Tonight:

“Could you, could you come tonight?
Instead of goin’ under
Could you, could you come tonight?
Would you think it’d be her last December?

Could it be the way she combs her hair?
It must have been the day you lost to care
What if I was the answer to your prayer?
Yeah, you need a little candor, need a little candor

What if we last ’til it’s dawn like you promised me?
Who let the boys spill their entrée?
Dinner is served, can’t you see we’re not opposites?
Are you still up thinkin’ of me?

I take all the blame
Is it hard to understand?
When it’s all the same
I’ve played all the games
And lost almost everything
Now I talk to myself and it’s quite surprisin’”

Phoenix is telling a story about risk hoping to be the one with the girl tonight. In the midst of the risk, he is trying to understand who he has come to be…. “Now I talk to myself and it’s quite surprisin.”

There is a time when the reader will just follow his or her instinct and take a risk. I hope you take the moment as it is and go for it. This is coming from one who likes to listen to these songs and not put them into action, but I have a new perspective on how this should be implemented for the situation I am in. I know the boundary I need to cross and hope you find yours.

--

--

Joseph Kieffer
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Exploring the possibilities of the scientific method are needed to bring about change. As an environmental scientist, I explore nature in depth.