A Music Review of Rocky Mountain Healing by Ray LaMontagne

Joseph Kieffer
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readJul 29, 2022
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Rocky Mountain Healing is made to be a song for those strangers to the outdoor mountains. I was born and raised in Louisiana and recently traveled to Colorado to hike my first fourteener. As m father-in-law, friend, and I was driving through the valleys of small towns such as Silverton and Ouray, we listened to the soothing voice of Ray Lamontagne signing about healing that only comes from the mountains. He gets a feeling about a place like Colorado that transcends into writing in comparison to the words below:

“I’ve been running all my life, never slowing down
All I’ve got to show for all the miles I put away
Are the dreams of what I could’ve done if I’d only stayed”

As we were driving through the winding shelf roads in Colorado we were thinking about our early human ancestors living on this land. How do we relate to them at this moment and how do we live on a rocky mountain high? That comes with listening to the words of Mr. LaMontagne and his experience driving through Colorado as we were. I believe everyone is running from something or running towards something. Slowing down is not a popular opinion among our social media and biohacking friends. Running takes all of our energy and Ray is speaking to the miles he drove and not the miles he didn’t go. To stay and ponder is to concentrate on your dreams and move them forward. To run, in this context, is to keep running and let distractions of our life consume our peace of mind.

“A man can get lost
In what might’ve been
Up here in the mountains
Can be born again.”

Everyone has a spiritual background in their beliefs and how they express them. To get lost in what might've been is not to secure your identity in who you are. Up here in the mountains is an example of a place in your heart that can reopen those dreams and aspirations. For me, mountains have that beautiful, imaginative, and thoughtful feeling to move my life forward. To be born is to experience your life again. Ray LaMontagne is certainly one that chooses the rocky mountains for healing.

--

--

Joseph Kieffer
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Exploring the possibilities of the scientific method are needed to bring about change. As an environmental scientist, I explore nature in depth.