Addicted

Poem related to drug abuse and family trauma

Maddylaviola
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
1 min readJun 23, 2022

--

Photo by Angela Loria on Unsplash

Cigarettes burn to the depths of my despair,
You promised your little baby that you’ll always be there.
But you’re not.
Addicted.
Mama, why you put me in this place?
Snorting lines and picking blisters on my face.
Cocaine.
When you spend your money out, there’s nothing left to make it rain.
Cocaine.
Where is Daddy?
I want him, he needs me!
He treats me better than you!
Where is Daddy?
I taunt him, he feeds me!
He beats me till’ I’m blue!
Mommy’s got an addiction.
Cocaine is contradiction.
I’m ready for her eviction.
Mommy’s got a problem,
What is a little girl to do?
Please support me, as a child.
Please child support me, I’m wild.
Cigarette burns to the depths of my despair,
You lied to your little baby that you’ll always be there.
But you’re dead.
Addicted.

And this is a life of an unwanted child.
Whose mother is wild. And her dearest boyfriend couldn’t help, and yes! She called her boyfriend, “Daddy” to make up for the one she never had! How sad!

--

--