Amnesia

Stories of the year 2626

Darius
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readFeb 6, 2021

--

Photo by Atul Pandey on Unsplash

I am writing to remember.

Something happened at some point, I can’t remember what exactly happened but we started to lose our memories.

To protect the well-being of society we gave robots rights. Today they run our lives. We don’t have to remember anything. Robots provide us with everything. Food, transport, entertainment. We don’t have to worry about a thing.

We have no families, friends or foes. No pets and no names. We have numbers tattooed on our arms. We are the first generation of Amnesiacs, there are some glitches in the system but robots are coping okay.

We get a daily dose of opiates mixed with amphetamines, they don’t get us too high we still can pretend that we care. It’s difficult to care when you feel the warm buzz pumping through your veins.

To keep us busy we must do some ‘work’. The work is monitored by robots. It’s impossible to make any mistakes.

People still meet, we still remember that there are pleasures in life.

A while ago, I started to see myself sitting on a train going somewhere. ( We don’t travel anymore, it’s way too dangerous). I have no idea where I am going and whether it’s a memory or a fantasy.

The memory comes back to me every day. In the beginning, it would come once a day but now it follows me everywhere.

I started to remember the colours and smells. There is a beautiful woman with a beautiful little girl beside me. Who are they? Are we related?

I remember I was happy, we were happy. I remember that I cared. I hope I will find out who are those people. I hope to see those smiles once more.

--

--