Angry Black Guy Looks: A Guide for New Employees

Adrian S. Potter
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readMar 1, 2018

--

Helpful Advice via Parody

Photo by Dorrell Tibbs on Unsplash

As a longtime employee of XYZ Corporation, I’d like to welcome you to the company! I am so excited to have you on the team.

Undoubtedly, you’ll discover that some coworkers refer to me as the “Angry Black Guy” of this firm, likely due to the irritated looks I give people during staff meetings, office get-togethers, and routine communication. But I assure you these looks don’t just represent anger; each one corresponds to a reaction triggered by a specific scenario.

I’d like to start on the right foot as colleagues, so I’ve assembled a summary of what these looks actually mean. Please review and ask questions as needed to ensure our interactions remain transparent, honest, and cordial.

Refer to this list often and I believe you’ll become well versed with all of these — and recognize they shouldn’t be simply categorized as anger.

  • Please Don’t Feel Obligated to Say Hello Look
  • I’m Not Exactly Sure This Is A Good Morning Look
  • You Just Said Something Overtly Racist And Don’t Even Realize It Look
  • Thank You So Much For Stealing My Idea In Front Of Our Boss Look
  • Oh So You Really Want To Talk About The Weather When I Have A Deadline Look

--

--

Adrian S. Potter
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Antisocial Extrovert · Writer and Poet, Engineer, Consultant, Public Speaker · Writing about self-improvement, gratitude, and creativity · www.adrianspotter.com