Are we safe in this country

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
1 min readNov 18, 2021
Photo by Hennie Stander on Unsplash

yes WE are safe
just that
one needs to be
in the right set of we

that we
which will not rest
till it divides morality
till it multiples hate
till it adds insecurity
till it subtracts decency
till it brackets maths and science
into their distorted world view

that we
for whom
only their view matters
all others irrelevant
irritation at best

for whom
religion is paramount
in which reason is to be subsumed
a convenience used
for exclusion

that we
with their obedient belief
in their leader supreme
ironically also feels unsafe
hence they trade in distractions
hence their comfort in smoke and mirrors
hence the propaganda to cover up
their insecurity

that we
which also knows
deep down
theirs is just a neon god
with feet of clay

the neon god is a recurring theme in my writing — from Simon and Garfunkel

--

--

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write