Are You Willing To Do the Work?

Jennifer Smith
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readDec 29, 2020

--

Photo credit: Minh Pham on Unsplash

Here we are at the end of a most challenging year. We all want 2021 to be the year of our dreams more than any previous year we have lived. Everyone is setting resolutions and creating plans for growth, success, and joy.

I, myself, have created goals and plans for the first 6 months of 2021. Overall, I want to generate more income from my writing. I want to shift toward writing as a worthwhile side hustle. I also want to lose weight, just like many of us who have been using foods to cope through the pandemic. I want to become an athlete again and compete in Masters’ swimming events this summer.

With a focus on these three general goals, I set to work with my calendar. I established routines and habits to ensure I would be moving forward on a daily basis to accomplish my goals. I planned a weekly writing routine. I planned a weekly workout routine, and I planned a weekly cooking routine. All three are written on my calendar and highlighted in different colors.

In pursuit of my writing goal, I applied to be a News Break contributor in addition to my work on Medium. I also started writing my second book while I am on vacation from my job. Although 2021 has not yet begun, I am working to set myself up for success.

All of this planning is great; however, I must do the daily work to attain your goals. I used to be a…

--

--

Jennifer Smith
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Dreamer, thinker, and writer. Author of Substack’s Voice and on Twitter: @Jennifer_Smith5