Being an Expat in Poland — A Latino’s Perspective

Jose Guzman
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
6 min readJan 28, 2022
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I’m Mexican-American and grew up speaking English and Spanish. I’ve been in the middle of two cultures, which has made me part of a unique American subculture.

When moving to Krakow, I never expected to live anywhere so diverse and diverse in different cultures and ways.

In California, I grew up with neighbors from India, Mexico, China, and Laos. I had people who couldn’t speak English and who could only speak English.

Poland has many visitors and travelers coming from all over the world, and it’s almost an entirely different dimension. People behave differently, semantics don’t work for me, and there are still many things to learn and see.

The strangest thing about Poland is that you can feel like you live in a culturally diverse place one moment and the next moment feel like you’re living in the Soviet Union.

There are still many buildings that were built during the communist period in Poland, and there are even some leftover ideologies and forms of thinking that prevail in Poland.

As my older Polish friend explained it, “there are the people that want to keep Poland in the past and those that want to change”.

For a foreigner, it is hard to notice the bad things at first. There’s no crackheads running around like in my hometown. I don’t have to worry about being shot or mugged in broad daylight.

The prices are better, much more affordable. (But this is coming from someone who lived in one of the most expensive cities in California.)

Life can still be difficult here in Poland and for some people it’s not ideal, but many will agree that it’s a wonderful country.

After taking everything into consideration, I’ve decided to make a list of five big differences that I’ve noticed.

1. Customer Service is Different

One of the biggest differences is the customer service within Poland. Store associates do not want to help you. You are there to buy and not ask questions.

Don’t expect a royal welcome or anything like a “howdy do”. They don’t even smile at you for the most part, and their lack of emotion could give foreigners a bad impression.

As most Californians are raised to be outgoing and cheerful conversationalists, Californians are immediately out of their element in this country.

People do not respond to your, “Hey, how’s it going” and definitely not, “What’s up”.

You learn that their “cold” or “indifferent” character is a natural way of responding to strangers, which makes more sense than being completely open with strangers, as most Californians will be.

One of my best friends in Poland was cold at first but turned out to be one of the friendliest people I have ever met.

2. Getting Stared at is Normal Even for People With Light Complexion

One of the biggest things that I noticed was being stared at. No, it’s not just my imagination because I’ve checked. Polish people do not find it rude to stare.

In fact, my wife and I had a hilarious moment when we were riding a train and some girl was staring at my wife.

The girl had a better poker face than us because she didn’t stop staring and didn’t stop chewing her gum. She stared us down.

At first I thought that being Mexican and darker skinned was the reason for getting stared at, but then I learned from a friend that Polish people actually stare at anyone new or “different”.

This is more common in the small villages because new people do not normally travel into these areas. Seeing a dark haired, tan Mexican walking around is a little startling. They’re just curious.

Even Polish people get looks if you’re not from the area.

I’m learning to just be cool with it, and I even stare back at times. People really don’t find it rude or strange.

(If I did that in California, I’d probably get stabbed or have the police called on me.)

3. Not Used to a Cramped Living Style

I miss my big, humongous six-lane highways and the big parking spaces. I miss the large stores and big empty sidewalks. I miss having a front and backyard to just sit in.

Poland and most of Europe is not for people who like big open highways, roads, and places. If you feel uncomfortable driving in American cities then you’d find Poland a nightmare.

People park anywhere they can, meaning they park their cars on opposite sides of the road. There’s no way most American sized trucks would fit through the streets.

The traffic lights switch nonstop, meaning lots of traffic. The roads also make trams a priority so you’ll be battling cars, trams, buses, and every other type of vehicle.

The highways have at most three lanes going one direction but most are only two lane roads. There’s not been a “fun drive” since I’ve been here. I don’t get the same relaxation that I did driving in the U.S.

The other issue is that people are forced to live in cramped apartments and areas. Many of the old apartments from the communist era are still being used, but they were designed poorly.

They were made in the cheapest manner, making space a luxury and not a requirement.

4. Not Many Mexican Americans

This one is a lot harder to overcome because I grew up in schools and neighborhoods where most people looked like me.

I had about ten Jose’s in my school and that was normal. I don’t think I’ve seen a Mexican person here once.

It makes me miss the culture, the people, and the sense of belonging to a group. I feel like the foreigner kid that never gets to go back home.

The biggest part that I miss about my culture is the food. There’s many cooking ingredients that are hard to find here that are readily available in the U.S. One of these is corn tortillas. I’ve only found a package but the flavor and texture was completely off.

The other thing is that people here don’t appreciate Mexican food because they don’t know how delicious it can be.

My sister’s boyfriend called it, “nothing special”. Then he said it’s because he doesn’t like kidney beans. My mother never ever used kidney beans. It’s the wrong bean.

(Which followed into a panic attack).

5. The Catholic Church is Huge Here

Polish people are serious about their religion, but it’s something that reminds me of Mexican-American culture. They have the same kind of devotion that keeps them going to church but doesn’t prevent them from partying hard.

The faith seems to be stronger and more important to social structures within the towns. I’ve made people suspicious of my wife and I when they learned we didn’t get married through the Catholic Church. We didn’t get married through any kind of religious setting.

Towns come together to build beautiful churches, statues, and gardens.

Polish people love their faith and is something to see. There’s giant figures of Christ and other saints around the cities and towns.

On top of the statues, there’s the large and numerous amount of churches and synagogues all over Poland. People can go into many and see the detailed and inspiring architecture.

Is Poland a Good Fit for Latinos?

The answer would be, maybe.

It depends on your experiences and preferences. If you like big, open roads, friendly looking people, and tans then maybe Poland isn’t the best place for you.

(I’ve lost a lot of my color being here).

If you like a socialized healthcare system, free college, cheap living, and five months of winter then you should visit. You could even get a visa to get free schooling out in Poland.

There are many beautiful things about Poland, but it can feel like too much especially for people who come from the U.S.

I’m here because of my wife. I most probably would not stay here if it wasn’t for her. I just feel too American but learning the language is making everything feel easier to cope with.

Living here is great, but I can’t help missing America and all its issues. I miss the sense of life found in California. It’s not perfect, but I feel closer to people.

--

--

Jose Guzman
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Literature focused with an interest in life, relationships, and learning. USMC Vet