Bike Ridership Before/After COVID in Colorado

Abdullah Kurkcu
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readAug 28, 2020

--

Analyzing Bike Ridership Trends

If you have read my last story, I promised that I would take a look at the change of bicycle counts before and after the pandemic. This story will talk about visualizing the change in bicycle counts and comment on the results.

I used the codes I developed the last time to download data from https://dtdapps.coloradodot.info/bikeped. More information on how to build those can be found in my previous story.

The CDOT website allows you to find stations with continuous counts. I found nine stations that have bicycle counts in 2020. However, some of them had data up to March 2020, so I selected five stations that have both 2020 and historical count data so that we can compare the changes.

CDOT OTIS system

After selecting these stations, I aggregated the counts for secondary directions only. The reason for this is that some bike trails are converted into one-way routes. The secondary direction was used as the primary direction of travel. Therefore, the comparison conducted in this story only uses secondary travel direction (SB, WB). Below, you can see the code that retrieves 2020 count data and aggregates the cumulative bike counts by week number.

--

--