Boomers: Give The Millenials A Break

Our blood runs through them

Lloyd Bowling
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
4 min readApr 13, 2020

--

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

You cannot deny it boomers. Your blood boils when you hear them say OK boomer. But it’s that same blood that courses through the veins of Millenials. They are your children.

Yes, I’m a boomer. I’m not apologising. I’m proud of my team, but you won’t see me waving a flag. I love our music, love the way we fought our olds in the 60’s and 70’s, battling for civil rights and against the war. But by nature, I’m not a flag-waver.

We boomers spend a lot of time complaining about Millenials. They’re narcissistic, immature and disengaged. They won’t commit to anything longer than the time it takes to click a selfie. Whose fault is it that the cereal makers are going down the tubes? Millenials. On and on it goes.

Several years ago I competed in a Men’s Doubles Tennis Championship match at my local club. It was a deadlock at 4 games to 4 in the 3rd and deciding set. We lost a critical point and I was angry. My younger partner David had netted a key shot. I clenched my teeth and yelled, “come on, what’s wrong!” David was a ferocious player, but a sensitive soul. He wouldn’t hurt a flea if it punched him in the nose. Players and spectators took notice. They could see the pain in his face. It was as if I’d stabbed him in the heart. I knew at that moment that I am my father’s son.

Thrilling Finish / Sad Ending

Later we surged, finishing as victors in a thrilling conclusion. There had been some scintillating points around great doubles play. David was outstanding.

Afterwards I was effusive in praise of his stellar performance. But something was wrong. Often he would greet compliments with a sheepish, almost apologetic grin. He was shy about recognition. This time was different. The grin was missing, replaced by an empty stare.

Looking back, I lost him with my guerilla rant. Somehow he closed with some outstanding tennis, leading us to a heart-stopping win. You’d have to be a tennis player to appreciate the level of emotional and physical tension present. The match result was hanging on a thin and tenuous thread. Considering his sensitive nature and vulnerability, I don’t know how he played on. He lifted himself, though he was hurting inside. It was his way of overcoming, proving that he was better than my anger.

Future Concerns

Baby boomers blame millenials for everything under the sun, and the youngers are weary of it. We’re quick to dish it out, but they are beginning to bite back. The result is a toxic social cocktail, passed between warring generations.

Photo by niklas_hamann on Unsplash

They’re worried about their futures and believe they’re getting a raw deal. Student Loan debts put tremendous financial pressure on their lifestyles. To many, marriage, home-buying and kids will have to wait.

Blood Brothers

As youngsters my brothers and I faced many angry moments from our father. Our common refrain was that we’d never be like that, never put anyone on the receiving end of such misery. The three of us made a blood pact, vowing never to go back on it. The pain had not been easy to bear, and often it would linger.

I thought I had cut that genetic thread, that I upheld my oath. But that moment on the court and a few others informed me otherwise.

David didn’t show up for the Award reception. He disappeared, and never returned my calls or messages thereafter. We had been an odd doubles pairing. I was the hard-driving boomer, he the sensitive millenial. Somehow we made it work and produced some stimulating tennis.

David, I’m sorry I hurt you, and if I could erase that angry moment I would. I too, felt that pain when I was a child, and vowed that I would not pass it on. Your were an amazing doubles partner and a better person.

Think about it boomers, consider making amends. The future is theirs and it will be a better one if we stand beside them. Your blood runs through them.

--

--

Lloyd Bowling
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Citizen of the world, based in South Asia. Reads, writes, runs and plays a lot of Tennis.