breakfast at SOBO

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
1 min readAug 21, 2022

hit the freeway
in a flash passed Chembur
then at Wadala or Sewree or Parel
hard to tell now
the skyscrapers loomed
like bouncers
outside a tony club

breakfast
at the usual place
with my friend
a familiar face
post Eggs Kejriwal
came a dish preceded by “Dunkin”
commonly refered as “Saambaar me dubake”
in both places called “mendu” wada
maybe its the hole
or maybe just a tongue shared
seeping in
even the bouncers can’t prevent

on the way back
the book lined pavements
at Fountain beckoned
a cup of coffee came
a long standing tradition
a courtesy proffered
SOBO was quiet
as it is on every Sunday
the earth did not rumble
the metro diggers
must also be resting

back on the freeway
as Chembur neared
over on the horizon
more bouncers appeared

just an aspirational NOBO
wanting to catch up
well folks, good luck
and while you are at it
please build, a music house,
an art gallery
even a library
so that newer poets
may find their muse
sit, sip, smoke, dream
and write about life
as it passes by

(for Rahul Desai)

--

--

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write