Don’t Follow Others Blindly

Layla
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readSep 20, 2020
Photo by Genevieve Dallaire on Unsplash

I’m embarrassed to say that I was one of those people who glorify overwork. I thought it made people look like they are hard workers, successful, and important. I also thought this was the only way to get ahead and succeed in life.

So, I pushed my self to work unrealistic hours to achieve my goals while my social life, mental health, and physical appearance suffered. I was constantly irritated, undernourished, and exhausted. I looked older than my real age with grey hair and dull skin. And I was not too fond of the way I felt or looked.

Instead of questioning my way of life, I criticized myself for not being strong or smart enough to make it in life.

Luckily, I soon realized that I’m doing it all wrong.

While it is essential to value hard work, we shouldn’t expect others to sacrifice their physical and mental health if they ever wanted to be successful and respected. We are guilty of creating this stress to ourselves, and yet we are complaining about it.

If we continue this self-sabotage, we will pay the price for treating ourselves horribly and blindly following our modern society’s unrealistic expectations. We will get older and weaker faster than we should, and there will be no magic instant treatment or potion to reverse the damage that we caused to our bodies.

Remember, just because most people are doing it, it is not always the right thing to do.

--

--